My Firewalk adventure…Revisited…

Since I released yesterday, what my next adventure would be, I thought, over the next few days, I’d show you or remind you (and me!) of my previous adventures……this one is from 2017……

 

What a wonderful 2 days I had last Thursday and Friday. Thursday, me and Gemma went to Blackpool for a last quick visit of the year and had an amazing day.

Then Friday was the day of my Firewalk!! I was soooo excited, it made coming home from Blackpool less sad.

Now obviously I wasn’t typing during this experience so memories are now very vague but the feelings are very much in tact so the detail might be a tad sketchy……but here goes.

Me, Sarah, Gemma and Stuart arrived at Dove House Hospice to find lots of people had already arrived. I was met by Anita, the Fundraising person there who immediately took me to meet Scott, the organiser, to make sure he was happy with me I was happy with him holding my hand across the fire. I joked how if he didn’t I’d end up wandering into the flames……the second of horror on his face showed how that wasn’t perhaps the best joke to crack before he got to know me🤣

Anyway, I put on my very serious face and promised to follow his instructions which did the trick………😇

Gemma then took me to get my T shirt and Sarah took a piccie of me with my ‘scared emoji look’

Anita then showed us into a quiet room away from all the chaos which was really appreciated as also was the cuppa tea which waited for me😊

Before long the firewalkers were called upstairs to have the hour long talk from Scott, from UK Firewalk. I thought this might be quite boring but he was such a good speaker and all the stuff was fascinating!
Turned out he was actually a World Champion firwalker and is in the Guinness Book of records for having walked the longest firewalk! He was funny and serious in equal amounts.

The room was chocca and there was about 40 firewalkers. Lots were very nervous but I was sat in the front row raring to go. Now obviously we were suppose to remember all he said🙄
But I think he was aware of the unlikelihood of this and I’m sure he kept saying ‘I’ll remind you’😂

What I do remember is his talk about fear, which was brill. We’d all come ‘prepared’ to give Firewalking a go and  had time to consider all that could go right and wrong.
It was at this point he brought out the metal tipped archery arrows……😳……..and proceeded to ask for a volunteer to hold a board….I wasn’t quick enough to stand up but someone duly went and held the board and then he proceeded to break the arrow using his neck.

He then asked if anyone would like to try? The room went very quiet – he explained that we hadn’t come ‘prepared’ to try this challenge so fear had set in.
Once again I wasn’t quick enough to get up first and a young lad wanted his mate to video it…then he egged on his friend to do the same and he was physically shaking, saying how it was going to kill him and go through his neck, which didn’t do much good for other people’s confidence🤣 so I piped up ‘Can I go next?’. At this point the young lad obviously thought he couldn’t possibly opt out and went for it…..😎
I didn’t give Scott time to think about it but again, that second of doubt cross his face but I put on my biggest smile as I was stood across from him holding the board and asked what to do next….


Didn’t have anyone to take a piccie of me but I couldn’t think how to explain it so here’s a piccie from our friend ‘google’ to show you where the arrow was resting on our throat  – the other end rested on the board and we had to lean in to break it

Here’s my broken arrow to prove it….💪🏻

Only 10 of the 40 did the arrow challenge but his explanation about fear made it all clear. I wasn’t afraid as I’m facing my biggest fear living with dementia, so nothing else holds any fear for me.

The look on the girls and Stuarts faces when I came down holding a broken arrow, beam on my face and saying ‘I just broke this on my neck!’ was priceless….😱🤣

The 2 instructions I remember from his talk about the firewalk, was breathe in through your nose to get oxygen into your lungs before stepping onto the fire (can’t remember why but it seemed very important🙄) and ‘wipe your feet on the damp grass immediately after’ ……the coals can stick to the sole of your feet and get caught between your toes😳

We all trooped out into the dark night towards the fire. There was a huge crowd of people and music which was nice. I couldn’t see where I was going so grabbed the person in front of me, making them jump out of their skin as they were nervous enough already!


Lots of buckets of water just in case….😳

One woman was so nervous she couldn’t stop shaking and another nervous lady decided to wait until last…….I don’t think Scott helped by taking the temperature of te grass and then the hot coals……something like 9 degrees and 500+ degrees for what we were about to step on.🙄

I think I was one of the 1st to go and Scott, true to his word came over and held my hand, reminded me to breathe before talking me across the hot coals and I immediately said I wanted to do it again.💪🏻💪🏻💪🏻

Seeing me join the queue again made the nervous woman feel better….I think…
Everyone did it and many for a second time. It was amazing. Many have asked me how it felt and how my feet felt………I can’t remember🙄🤣 I just remember it felt weird but wonderful. What hurt most was my neck after the arrow challenge🤣😂🤣😂

Sadly it was so dark that photos didn’t come out very clearly and videos just didn’t work but these ones hopefully convince everyone I did actually do it!


Thank you for all those who so generously sponsored me. I raised £894.68 for a wonderful cause, so am very happy.

Wonder what my next adventure will be…..🤔

Well, that was in 2017……and I know know what my next adventure will be…

Flying over Paradise”

I know it’s a difficult time to ask you to sponsor me, but even if you can spare £1, every pound will enable Minds and Voices to keeping being there for us….you can find out more here on my sponsorship page:

https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/wendy-mitchell

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with Young Onset Dementia. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

10 thoughts on “My Firewalk adventure…Revisited…

    1. The reply I got said…. At the moment all donations on our Crowdfunding platform are processed in GBP, so anyone donating from abroad will still be able to donate but this will lodge as an international transaction with their bank. I’m afraid this also means we’re not able to display donations in any other currency on your page.

      So it might be easier to support me in your thoughts, but thank you for trying:)xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.