An impromptu visit by two very dear friends……

Some people enter your life, and no matter how long time has elapsed since seeing them last, it’s always like you were never apart. My two dear friends Chris and Jayne are two such people

They were into camper vans long before they became fashionable and had been staying on the nearby east coast. I had a txt from them the night before asking if I was busy the following day, Saturday….well no matter what I’d have been doing, I would have cancelled it.

I’d felt lost from the moment I’d woken on Saturday. I’d sat on the stairs after getting dressed, trying to work out what to do next. I had my camera in my hand but my head was blank, as though a dark cloud was passing over obliterating all logical thought. As soon as I stood up and moved, I promptly slipped my way down the stairs. Slightly battered and bruised, I rubbed my back while checking my camera, but it looked ok 🥵…..I turned back and went up the stairs to start the day again….

As I lay on my bed with a cuppa tea, my morning games starting to lift the cloud, I suddenly thought I’d go to town early, then Jayne and Chris can arrive whenever suits them as they had the long trip back to Wales……I looked at my photos from the day before just to check I hadn’t been to town already 🙄 but I hadn’t.

I’d gone fungi hunting the day before and was pleased with myself for finding as many as I did, but these were my favourite

Lots of tiny delicate umbrellas for even tinier fairies to shelter under……

Luckily Jayne and Chris were due around lunchtime so I set off to walk into town with the purpose of coming back on the first bus of the day at 10 past 10……

I felt I’d left my sparkle at home and was conscious of walking slower than usual

But I managed to get back home as planned….I pottered around in the garden, feeling the need to be outside in the fresh air instead of closed inside.

As midday approached I had a message from Jayne to say traffic was bad and sat nav said 20 minutes. Two minutes later, I had another message to say:

“It lied, we’re here” 🤣

I trundled down the Main Street looking for their cream and champagne coloured motorhome, which they’d managed to park near the duck pond……there was Chris sorting the dogs out for a comfort wander and suddenly it was like it was only yesterday since I last saw them.

A Chris hug is like no other and it felt quite emotional seeing them both stood in front of me. For some reason, I’d thought I”d never see them again, yet here they were.

We sat inside their cosy camper van and suddenly all was right in the world

We chatted, put the world to rights, laughed and chatted more

Their two adorable dogs sat taking it all in…..

…..every now and then, appearing from under the table for a cuddle

As I looked round their compact home, I could see why they loved it so much, especially Chris. Everything in the same place, all within touching distance, all cosy and warm. No wonder Chris even spends time in there even when it’s parked at home. 

I didn’t want their visit to end. I could have chatted all day to these two wonderful people, but needs must…..but another photo

We said our farewells by taking the dogs for a walk to the pond ……even Teresa Terrapin had made a special appearance for them…….

and we sat, just for a few more moments before going back to the van.

One precious hour in the company of friends

And they were gone………

Chris is living with dementia and calls his wife Jayne his logistics manager (🤔 mmmm I’m sure it’s something different but those words popped into my head 🙄). Some years ago they made the brilliant Panorama programme, which if you didn’t watch it…….you missed something truly brilliant. Can’t seem to find a link anymore, which is a bit tragic, but maybe if you search better than me you’ll be able to find a copy…….

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with Young Onset Dementia. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

13 thoughts on “An impromptu visit by two very dear friends……

  1. I can’t resist a challenge sometimes, so yours to see if I could find ‘Chris’s story’ set me off towards the BBC Sounds pages. Believe it or not, there are hundreds of radio programmes about dementia, and living with dementia, including from February 2018 when your book was the ‘Book of the Week’!

    There weren’t any mentioning TV, so then I asked Google about “BBC Panorama and Dementia” and the first one that came up was the one about Chris! Unfortunately it’s not available to watch now, but you can still read what it was about and there is a lovely picture of Chris, Jayne and their daughter, Kate. It was broadcast back in June 2016.

    It was lovely to read your account of catching up with them both in their camper van!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, those impromptu visits are always so special and just give a person such a lift. I’m just starting to read “Nomadland”, on which the movie was based. It’s all about the older folks who are being forced out of their homes for one reason or another and they start living in their campers, trailers Vs, what have you, and travel America finding work wherever they can. They’ve become a whole community unto themselves. You and Chris and Jayne inspire me. Hope your body didn’t crash from your fall down the stairs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How lovely for the three of you and the dogs 😉 to have that precious time together ❤️

    On Mon, 25 Oct 2021, 11:56 Which me am I today?, wrote:

    > wendy7713 posted: ” Some people enter your life, and no matter how long > time has elapsed since seeing them last, it’s always like you were never > apart. My two dear friends Chris and Jayne are two such people They were > into camper vans long before they became fash” >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a shame we can’t still watch it, I tried too, but you’re right Wendy, no longer available even on You Tube. Wish BBC would make it available again.
    So glad you managed to meet up with them and had a lovely, albeit brief catch-up.
    Sorry to hear you had a bruising moment on the stairs, hope not too many. I find Arnica ointment good for bruising, have you tried it? Anyway enjoy the rest of your week Wendy 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.