Talking to Senior Hospital and Care Home Staff…

So yesterday I was back down in London talking to senior hospital and care home staff as part of Buz Loveday’s 5 day course.
It was day 1 for a new set of managers and I was there to replicate the 90 minute session I gave to the previous group last week.

Luckily the storm overnight had passed and it was a nice sunny morning. The taxi was late as the town cows had decided to play on the road just for a laugh🙄
However I got to the station on time and we trundled happily to Doncaster for my change of train.
The day before I’d had a sit and stare day as Monday was busy, today I was in London and tomorrow was also a busy day. So sit and stare day seemed in order for Tuesday.

The sky was very mixed as we trundled past the Humber so sunshine and showers was probably going to be the order of today. I also had my winter coat on😳

And the windmills looked almost ghostly surrounded by rain clouds and a chink of light.

When I got to London it was warm and sunny 😳 so a nice amble to the Wellcome Trust building via St Pancras and the lovely statue of Sir John Benjamin……

Notice how I found a deserted part of St Pancras! A nice place to escape the hustle and bustle…

Once I got to the Wellcome Trust I settled myself down in the cafe at the entrance and watched the world go by while waiting for Buz. I hadn’t notice the first time round last week how they have an upside down statue in the entrance!

It really is stuck to the ceiling upside down!

Buz came and got me when they broke for a cuppa tea and Buz earned her brownie point by immediately getting me one😊

Today there were 22 senior managers, matrons, paramedics, care home managers, OT’s, so a nice diverse group. I spoke for an hour about dementia not being all about memory and how so many of our senses are affected, misconceptions, technology, language, research and the #handouthope campaign, but the one that was the biggest light bulb moment came in the question about design and me saying  not to forget the ‘Way Out’ sign in toilets!

Many other topics came up in my talk but after an hour it was their turn to ask questions and luckily they had lots of them. I havn’t a clue what was asked as I wasn’t typing but I remember we eventually had to stop as it was time for my train.
Actually I do remember one……..well I remembered it as I got on the train……as I immediately plugged my phone in…..one person asked, ‘Have you ever run out of battery on your phone’? And my response was ….
‘Well I panic when it’s on 99%…………….’

A lovely session with lovely people and they’re very lucky to have Buz training them…..

One last picture…..found this nice new bus pass holder in the Wellcome shop…

More can be found out about Buz’s brilliant training courses at:

http://www.dementiatrainers.co.uk/

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Talking to Senior Hospital and Care Home Staff…

Leave a Reply

