Co-designing Dementia Care to improve value……

Yesterday saw me off to the lovely city of Durham. I’m on the advisory board for the above project. Richard Glover, Senior Commissioning Support Officer, North of England Commissioning Support (Long badge required) had kindly sorted out my train tickets and sent me a print out of the detail, which is always greatly appreciated.

There are many people involved in this project, which is so important for the local area, People with dementia and their supporters, NHS Staff, The Local Council, CCGs, Charities, along with all the researchers.

Over the last 2 months, they’ve been interviewing people with dementia and their supporters around their experience of care in County Durham with the aim of finding out what is missing in the services offered.

Well the morning started very cool and wet but at least the taxi was on time. However, for some bizarre reason I forgot to put on a coat😳 so it was a lot cooler that it needed to be😂 but at least I always have my umbi in my haversack……..☔️

The rain made it difficult to take photos as the splashes on the window show.

It’s a strange journey because I go to Doncaster and then come back on the same line passing the same scenery until the line changes towards York…….hey ho…..

The journey was going well until I had to change at Doncaster…….🙄 ‘All trains delayed coming from London’😳…….here we go…………cuppa tea required ☕️………it arrived 30 minute late, so could have been worse. I’d already decided, after a cuppa, that I’d just go back home if it was more than an hour……

I was met by Prof Jan from Bradford Uni, Mara, Richard Chiara, and a nice cuppa and lunch.

Everyone else arrived and we got started with introductions.

So we then had an update about what’s been going on in the last 6 months by Richard – the 2 workshops, one mapping out local services, and another identifying priority areas. They’ve completed 14 out of 24 interviews. Also work on the first improvement has started.

The objective of the project is to involve people locally in helping to make decisions to improve dementia care in County Durham with no extra cash in the system and assess how much impact involving people has on services.

As members of the Advisory Board, we suggested many new ways to find participants, which will hopefully help to get the remaining numbers needed.
The commissioners will make changes based on the co-designing process.

As with many research studies, they’re finding it hard to recruit so if you know of anyone in the Durham area, please lei them know, after all, how will you get services improved if you don’t say what’s missing?

You can contact the team by email on:

dementia@bsg.ox.ac.uk

Or just email me if you prefer and I’ll put you in touch with the team: wendy7713@icloud.com

The journey back saw the sun trying desperately to break through the murk……..

But soon after, it lost and the heavens opened…….☔️and as we trundled towards home, the skies over the windmills looked decidedly unsettled…

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

