Latest visit to Hull Royal…….

It’s no secret how much I hate going to Hull Royal. I’ve written about it often enough. The memory of the unsmiley faces of my first visit fixed firmly in my mind so it’s going to take a lot to change that image.

Last Thursday I had my review visit in the neurology clinic there. Me and Gemma set off in plenty of time, but once again the main car park was full and we had to go find another. We ended up arriving at the main entrance with 5 mins to spare, simply because it took us half an hour to park – very stressful start……😩

The dreaded self book in machine was waiting for us in the foyer….it still asks me lots of confusing questions

but thankfully they have changed the way it works at the end and the detail of where to go stays firmly on the screen until you clear it. My complaint before was that it disappeared before we could register where to go, so praise where praise is deserved, they have improved that function.

However, the dark unfriendly staircase with a closed door at the top and no signs still exists…..

Wouldn’t take much for local school children to brighten up with their artwork – simple ‘welcome’ drawings would be nice even if they were only on the door.

We were called straight in for me to be weighed but then had to wait another 90 mins before seeing a registrar. I don’t mind waiting to be seen at all, what I do object to is not being told why. Anxiety is high enough without having the worry of when you’ll be seen. They have on the wall beside each consulting room the ideal solution – a board telling you how late they’re running……..but it’s such a shame they don’t bother to use it. They really don’t help themselves.

The registrar spent more time with me that I think the Consultant next door would have and he had a nice smilie face. He was also thorough reading my notes and in giving explanations.

However, I asked how frequently people get re diagnosed and was told, they don’t. Which is odd since I know many who have received a new diagnosis….I also saw my MRI scan which he said was totally normal. When I mentioned the new imaging techniques being used in Leeds in London which enabled them to see far more detail, especially for young onset, he simply said that the at Hull radiologists were very experienced, which missed the point.

Someone with dementia isn’t suppose to have knowledge or intelligence as it’s just sad that he had  to look at my daughter for confirmation of what I was saying …..hey ho

I know there are very good clinicians out there, I just wish I could be under the care of one. I think it just shows how little we really know about the brain and although we’ve made a lot of headway in recent years, there’s still an awful long way to go.

I’m a huge supporter of the NHS but I can’t be enthusiastic about Hull Royal and it’s still my least favourite place and I leave feeling sad but at least I won’t have another appointment for at least 6 months……

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Latest visit to Hull Royal…….

  1. Hi Wendy, the thing about looking to your daughter for confirmation of what you are saying isn’t related to your intelligence, it’s something they do as a matter of course with dementia patients as we can get confused with things like timings or events that have or haven’t happened etc so if you have another person with you they look for a nod or a shake of the head. Also the reason why they try to get the person accompanying you to sit slightly behind you so you can’t see them nodding or shaking.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This must be so frustrating for you, especially when you’re working so hard for the benefit of the wider dementia community. I hope you find some way of using your tenacious (and witty!) spirit to help Hull Royal move forward in this area. Maybe someone there would appreciate a chat over a cup of tea! (If only!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

