A WOW experience up in a glider……..Part 2!

Well yesterdays blog was all about getting airborne so today I’d thought I’d finish off the experience ………

So there me and Steve were up high in this amazing wonderful world of the sky, looking down at the familiar yet unfamiliar looking world below. He spent the whole time chatting and telling me what we could see.

We managed to get above a bubble of air which allowed us to go round and round in circles gaining height by 300 feet per minute. He’d warned me on the ground that many people felt immediately sick when circling but as long as you kept your head still following the glider, it was fine, but he did keep asking …..just in case😂

I managed to get one of an aeroplane flying way below us

And I spotted the road that I usually trundle along on a bus on my way to York!

But the views of the golden-yellow rape fields were my favourite

The views below were just mesmerising….there was an amazing house hidden in the wood below and they wouldn’t have a clue that we were silently flying over them….

It was a shame it was so hazy as usually you can see as far as the Pennines on one side and the Humber on the other but it didn’t matter, it was still amazing……

Finally it was time to head back, and soon the runway was back in site with everyone waiting for me by the control bus…..

The landing was amazingly smooth and the whole experience surpassed my expectation. Steve even got them to pull the glider back by tractor so I wouldn’t have to walk back across the airfield …..and what better way to celebrate than with a cuppa…..a wonderful ending to a wonderful day…..😊

On the way out what did I spy but a poster for ……wing walking…😂😂🤔

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

7 thoughts on “A WOW experience up in a glider……..Part 2!

Leave a Reply

