Dying well is equally important as Living well….

I recently wrote about my involvement with the judging of the Northern Lights awards.
One of the categories up for an award, as well as ‘Living well’ was ‘Dying well’.

The presentations on Dying well were some of the best I’d seen. They weren’t depressing, they weren’t morbid as many would think. They were practical, sensitive and also full of information on how best to start the talking..

Dying well starts at diagnosis. Talking about it doesn’t mean death is necessarily imminent – it could be years away. Talking about death while your still able helps you to share with loved ones all the things that mean so much to you.
Do you want to take part in research when you lose capacity?
Have you written your will?
Lasting Power of Attorney?
Do you want to be buried or cremated?
Is there anyone you don’t want at your funeral? – hadn’t thought of that one!🙄
Do you have any favourite music?
Favourite clothes?

It’s definitely the elephant in the room

But talking now you can reduce those fears and more importantly reduce the hassle for those left behind…

You can’t tell people when you’re dead so talk about it now and then you can relax and carry on enjoying each day and each moment……..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Dying well is equally important as Living well….

  1. Wendy – How true about death. My parents had talked about most of the things on your list and when my mom went into the nursing home 6 months before she died, I helped plan the funeral with my dad…..and his. It was actually a very healthy process and we had some laughs along the way! I love your posts. Konna

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

