Why I feel safe in my childhood seaside town….

So yesterdays blog was my weekend away in pictures but many people have been asking where they were taken. So today is all about why I feel so safe going on my own.

As a child we always went to Blackpool for many many years – factory shut down fortnight was when the world seemed to descend on the place, including little me.

Even as a child I was allowed to wander safely along the prom and the beach. I would love walking by the sea edge away from the crowds.There were always the familiar landmarks to guide you back. It was a very different world we lived in then.

Well now that’s taken on a different importance. People have said how there must be nicer places to go than Blackpool, but I disagree. It’s a wonderfully safe place, remembering I rarely go out in the dark. The miles of deserted sandy beaches are beautiful….

I stay in a nice hotel on the North Shore, the quiet end. The hotel manager has even read my blog and so I’m well looked after on each visit. But what I like most is the familiarity of it all.

I step outside and can walk safely in either direction along the prom for as long as my legs will carry me. When I get tired I simply go to the tram stop – all clearly named – and catch a tram. There’s no worry about ‘which tram’ to ‘which place’ as they all go the same route all day long – Star Gate to Fleetwood. So even if I went in the wrong direction, it would eventually get to the end and turn round. From Fleetwood you can even see the Lake District – my other favourite place.

The trams are very people friendly with no steps to climb and clear big windows to see the view. The conductors are lovely and one demonstrated this perfectly at the weekend. One chappie got on by himself, who to me clearly had dementia. He shuffled on but then didn’t know what to do. The conductor took his arm and started joking – ‘let’s get you sat down, after all if you fell over it would give me loads of paperwork to fill in and I’m no good at that’. The chap sat happily, grateful for the helpful arm, staring out of the window, just like I do.

The automated announcement lets you know which stop is next and to ring the bell if you want to get off – so many towns could learn so much from this often maligned seaside town.

The old trams also trundle up and down and shorter route which bring back lots of nice memories.

The landmarks loom large and clear, North Pier, Central and South and the Pepsi Max roller coaster can be seen for miles.

And not forgetting the wonderful Tower, which can be seen for miles and is always lit up at night and where I spend an hour with a cuppa watching people of all standards dancing happily around the amazing Ballroom.

I can hop on and off the trams all day long quite happily and stop back at my hotel to have a cuppa in my room and sit watching the sea from my window.

And there’s never a dull sunset in Blackpool as yesterdays picture clearly showed…….

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “Why I feel safe in my childhood seaside town….

Leave a Reply

