A Wonderful opportunity has come my way…….

Some of you may have already heard via Twitter or Facebook, but the publishers Bloomsbury announced last week that they have won the publishing rights for a book I’m writing with the wonderful ghost writer Anna Wharton.

Anna contacted me last year sometime and we submitted a sample to many publishers a few weeks ago. Life suddenly went crazy for a few weeks while discussions took place.
Once it was announced, I was suddenly filled with embarrassment. I wasn’t sure how others would react. After all, ‘why me?’? We all have a story to tell. I was just the fortunate one, when Anna contacted me after seeing the film I mad for Woman and Home. But people have been very generous with their kind comments, so now it’s on my blog and I’ll be able t remember the moment.

Anna is already a successful author and her book, Cut, has just been long listed for this years Orwell Prize awards. She has enabled other people to tell their story.

She says of her role as a ghost writer:

“My job is to stand in the shadows”

While, here, at least she’s firmly in the limelight and you can hear Anna talking about the power of storytelling on a short film on YouTube:

Just goes to show that you should never give in when life throws a bad hand at you as you never know what opportunities may come your way or be just around the corner…………….

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

22 thoughts on “A Wonderful opportunity has come my way…….

  1. Great Wendy, so delighted for you; it is very well deserved and will be so helpful for so many other people. Anna Wharton’s talk was very inspiring, she is a delight to watch and listen to.
    I told you last week you were a star and now you get to shine your light – congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Wendy, I’ve just come across your blog via your you-tube film which a friend shared on facebook. What an inspiration you are! Congratulations on this great opportunity. And thank you for sharing your experiences as you do. My mother has vascular dementia which at present isn’t causing her too many problems cognitively. But I can see where she struggles; she’s just not aware of it. I’ve already learned things from the little I’ve read of your experiences which will help me to make sense of hers. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is wonderful news Wendy and literally another chapter in your life. My Mum and myself are so pleased for you, your family and Billy. You are an inspiration for others and their families like mine living with this horrible disease. Your hard work in keeping this blog going for over 2 years is being recognised. It’s great how you continue to make the most out of every opportunity. Would love to purchase a signed copy of your book when it is eventually out, though I know that is a long way off! Good luck with the writing…

    Martin and my Mum Marion x

    Like

      1. Such brilliant news, Wendy! I was so pleased to see it on Facebook the other day, congratulations again. I have been thinking how good it would be to have your collected blogs and posts all in one place, and how helpful this would be for so many people I see in our Dementia diagnosis service and young onset Dementia service. I am sure following Keith Oliver’s recent book this will add another valuable perspective to the still much too small body of published voices of people struggling yet living successful lives with a form of Dementia. Much looking forward to reading it. Wishing you luck and great enjoyment in putting it together.
        Best wishes, Reinhard

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Wendy. Just for your information my Mum and Dad as a couple are currently taking part in a pilot study called “TIHM” Technology Integrated Health Management being run by Surrey and Borders NHS Foundation Trust. Today they, and another couple met with the Under Secretary who was very impressed with the study and their contribution. Have you heard of it? Here is the link: https://www.england.nhs.uk/ourwork/innovation/test-beds/tihm/.

    I think there is great research taking place and good to see that people are recognising that technology can play a role in making peoples’ lives easier.

    All the best,

    Martin

    Like

      1. I will pass your reply onto my Mum and Dad thank you Wendy. The console and equipment records my Dad’s blood pressure, heart rate and oxygen level on a daily basis in the morning and afternoon as a way of monitoring the medication my Dad is on so can foresee any potential problems/side effects before they happen. My Mum and Dad have had a few gremlins with the technology with not being able to send the information electronically but it is improving.

        Good luck with the book.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. fantastic news! There is so much that you have done, and so much more lies ahead. You are blazing a path that will lead so many people to understand what Alz is all about. Goodness me, you are a light in the gloom. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

