Waterless soap and shampoo……🤔

I often get contacted by companies asking me to try products in the hope that I’ll review on my blog. I usually decline as this isn’t the purpose of my blog.

However, a while ago, I was contacted by a company who produce waterless products. The thought intrigued me so much that this time I agreed.

They sent me waterless body soap
img_4528

And waterless shampoo.

img_4529

My daughter Sarah, who is a nurse in a hospice said they used the waterless soap, and a shower cap with waterless shampoo, but had never used the liquid shampoo.

I must admit to being very sceptical…….but I was pleasantly surprised at how amazing they were. For the body wash, you simply use the foam and then wipe off with a towel while it’s still foamy. The shampoo is in liquid and lathers just like shampoo when you put it on dry hair😳. While it’s still foamy, you use a towel to rub it off.

Sounds impossible but your hair feels like it’s just been washed……most bizarre. It also smells really nice. I washed my hands in the body wash and at first, once I’d towel dried, they felt sticky. But we came to the conclusion that I’d used too much. After a while they felt very soft and clean. Trying it again, but with a smaller amount, it worked perfectly – no sticky residue.

I can think of so many uses for these products. People with dementia in the later stages, often don’t like water, so these products would help.
But also for children, camping, travelling, and for me, if you’re in hospital. I remember hating the thought of using the hospital bathrooms and this would have been perfect.

Also might be really useful for those frequent occasions when I can’t work out how to use the shower in hotels……😂😂

I’m sure there’s lots of other situations where they’d be ideal.

Obviously, I’d prefer to use water but as an alternative I found them very good. As I say, I don’t usually review products, but these seemed worth a mention. I havn’t a clue how much they cost, so apologies if they’re expensive, but more details can be found at their web site:

www.nilaqua.co.uk

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Waterless soap and shampoo……🤔

  1. What a brilliant idea. My mum was very claustrophobic even before she had dementia. It became impossible to get her hair washed when she was ill, she couldn’t bear having water on her head. The Nursing Home used wet wipes, but they were never very good. These would have been so much better. Thanks for testing them Wendy. Hopefully they’ll be widely available soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

