Medical emergency bit on iphone…..

After last week’s blog about my disastrous journey home from London, it seems an opportune time to share this new thing I’ve found on my smartphone……..

Those of you who have a iPhone all probably already aware, but just in case its bypassed you like it did me I thought I’d share this info.

Did you know that in an emergency, people are able to access any information you’re willing to share about your medical history and next of kin contact details without the need to be able to unlock your phone? It would be really good for anyone that gets lost and ends up with a smiley person trying to help……….

At the bottom left of the log in screen is the ‘Emergency’ button – click this

img_4471

Then select ‘Medical ID’ from the bottom left of the screen.

It has everything you wish to share including the ability to enter next of kin telephone numbers as well as all your medical details.

I thought this would be really useful if you get lost and confused as well. Maybe other phones have the ability to do something similar.

As I said, I’m probably the last to realise this – although I didn’t realise it at all as Gemma and Sarah told me and helped me to complete. I know it relies on us remembering to take our phone out with us, but anything is better than nothing……

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

6 thoughts on “Medical emergency bit on iphone…..

  1. Wendy…thanks for that information! I’ve had an iPhone for a long time and I did not know this!! I thought if you pushed it, you would be reaching 911. So I will have to check that out! Love your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

