With millions of pounds up for grabs, we have to get it right….

Yesterday saw me trundling down to London on the train to the Alzheimer’s Society for the Grant review panel meeting on Monday, followed by the full Care programme Grants board meeting on Tuesday.

I’d somehow managed to get myself 2 black eyes last week, but had also managed the avoid the regulars on the village bus, due to the inclement weather, so had avoided interrogation being questioned…… However, it was going to be more difficult in London as you couldn’t avoid the panda eyed person sat across the desk from you🐼………I’m not sure how I did it, as it happened so quickly, and was so confusing to work out at the time, but all I can say for sure is, ……..the door won🙄

Anyway back to my day…..it was a silly o’clock start so very dark and cold. I can’t wait for the lighter days when the world seems so much friendlier. I played solitaire until I could see something other than myself out of the window….. Sarah had checked the tube stations were going to be open following last weeks journey……or was it the week before🤔🤔

It started to get light once we’d reached Doncaster, so all was right out of the window again and I could start watching the world go by…..

img_4487

Once we arrived in London there was an unusual brightness shining brightly……..I havn’t seen the sun for ages…….and today was a gorgeous day.

I took my suitcase to the hotel only to find my room was ready so I snook upstairs and almost got side tracked by the sight of the cosy chairs and bed………But I pulled myself together and made my way to the new offices

I forget that even when it's a gorgeous sunny day, that it's often hidden by the tall buildings.....
I forget that even when it’s a gorgeous sunny day, that it’s often hidden by the tall buildings…..

The new address is Crutched Friars….. A strange name, so I had to consult my dear friend Google for an interpretation……
“An order of mendicant friars established in Italy by 1169, which spread to England, France, and the Low Countries in the 13th century and was suppressed in 1656. Crutched (earlier crouched), from Latin crux, cruc- cross, referring to the cross worn on the top of their staves, and later on the front of their habits.”

So now we know…….

The new branding makes it look much more colourful and friendly in the offices…

img_2207

Anna met us inside and provided me with a mug of tea…..double brownie point earned…….firstly for the cuppa tea and secondly for bringing it in a mug! Cups are difficult to hold and simply don’t hold enough……:)
Keith and Peter were there and the other 4 members of the panel from the research network soon arrived.

Luckily the IT bit wasn’t quite working so I could have my second cuppa.
Anna introduced the meeting, and then we all introduced ourselves – me and Keith Oliver and 4 carers were part of the board along with the society staff.

img_4501

This is a very large sum of money so It’s important that we get it right and the result will be known by the end of March.
We went through the process for the day, including the voting process.

There were 9 proposals altogether and I had been sent 4 and Peter, 5. I’d had every intention of reading and writing notes on all of them but it’s a very exhausting process so 4 was plenty for me.

There were many wonderful projects to consider but none had the perfect score as all had questions that needed answering.. There were many valid compliments, criticisms and discussions to be had. My main gripe is when proposals are so poorly laid out that I find it hard to read and understand. They may have all the detail written but it’s hard to find the words……….so please researchers, use shorter paragraphs and spacing to make it easier to read.
One of my 4 was laid out perfectly, but obviously I couldn’t say which one..but it was a joy to read even though there were a few concerns raised.

It was so interesting to hear everyones views and it gave me and Peter lots to take to the board tomorrow as lay representatives…….

If you’d like to be involved with the research network, there are many varied opportunities with training given for each. You can find out more here, although it did take me forever to find on the new web site, I’m afraid, if anyone from the society is reading this!:

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/info/20063/patient_and_public_involvement/43/the_research_network/7

Hope I can work out the shower in the hotel this time …..🙄

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “With millions of pounds up for grabs, we have to get it right….

Leave a Reply

