Visit to Hull – City of Culture 2017………

At the weekend the weather was so rubbish that I trundled into Hull on the bus to take photos of stuff for the year of Culture.

I have to travel to Hull whenever I’m going on the train. As all things start at Hull in this area.Hull is often referred to as the ‘end of the world’, mainly because you don’t pass through here on the train to get to other places – the line ends here…….. However, this year it’s the City of Culture and many people are excited by the effect it is having on tourism. It’s also showcasing another side of Hull, rarely seen, and the committee organising the events for the year are doing an amazing job.

Many of you who read my blog will know that train journeys often go array…….well the bus journey didn’t go as planned either………..none of you must ever travel with me, it’s not to be recommended if you want a smooth, uneventful journey.
We got to the outskirts of Hull, only for the driver to receive a message on the intercom…’the main road had been closed by police’……..🙄 Being accustomed to diversions, delays and other unexpected events, I simply waited to hear what was going to happen……..😂

The driver stopped the bus and filled us in on what he’d heard. Many people would have wanted to get off at various points along this road, so it was obviously going to cause problems. The bus driver agreed to stop at a turning just off the main road and let those off who wanted to walk.
The kindest thing of all, was that there was a partially sighted woman on the bus, and the driver made sure she knew exactly where she was and which direction she needed to be in before he set off again. How kind was that? The bus drivers on our buses are the friendliest, smiliest drivers I’ve met, so mega gold star and brownie point for EYMS bus drivers, especially that one.

We trundled through parts of Hull that I actually knew from years ago, so the detour was very welcome.

I’d been saying I wanted to go ever since they put a sail of one of my wind turbines, that I frequently take photos of on my train journeys, in the middle of the city. . The factory where they’re made is on the Humber and the logistics of trying to get it in situe were mind boggling.

The photos really don't do it justice as the size of it is enormous....
The photos really don’t do it justice as the size of it is enormous….
The effort it took to get it into position was amazing to watch...
The effort it took to get it into position was amazing to watch…

Also unveiled on Saturday, in Hull Paragon station, was a life sized model of the plane flown by Amy Johnson and made by prisoners at Hull Prison.
It was completed in December 2016, based on the drawings and photographs of the original plane used by Amy to fly to Australia in 1930.

img_2186

img_2185

There was also a wonderfully colourful moth which also depicted this amazing aviator.

img_2198

The weather may have been rubbish but there were many people, just like me, taking photos….imagine what they’d look like in the sunshine…….well done Hull…..

img_4472

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Visit to Hull – City of Culture 2017………

Leave a Reply

