Post mortem of my journey home from London…..

I thought I’d write an additional  extra telling you about my journey home from yesterdays blog………..

For those that know me well, you’ll know that journeys often don’t go well for me……the journey there was fine….

On Saturday morning I walked to Tower Hill tube station to find it closed😳. Now in fairness to Matt he had offered for someone to meet me at the hotel after the chaos of my last trip and take me to Kings Cross. But I know that tube line well and prefer tube to taxi as I can see where we are by the station names. In a taxi I get anxious because I don’t know the roads. So I didn’t expect a problem. Neither had all the other people milling around🙄 AND it was raining….can’t have umbrella when dragging suitcase and clinging to walking stick……💦

I followed the masses and we found another tube station – CLOSED😱At this point I stopped following and stood in a doorway trying not to panic – no smiley faces in sight to ask – a reminder vibrated on my phone in my pocket, which reminded me …..I set my walking app to take me back to the hotel as I hadn’t a clue how to get a cab in London and I now didn’t know where I was.

Luckily I’d left well before my train was due 😇 My trusty app found the hotel and they duly got me a cab. The taxi driver started off the conversation by saying there were major road closures in London today and he’d have to go a different route😞. However, as luck had it, the train was on the platform when I got there – breathed again and the journey started……

We then came to a halt at Stevenage – major disruption on line😩……we then started crawling through places that weren’t familiar 😶- was the train driver lost? We stopped and started several times as though he was consulting his map……….🙃 Everyone was nervously looking out of the window….However the seat cover clearly said ‘Hull Trains’ and they only go to Hull…..I tried to convince myself…..

img_4448

Half way through the journey, we suddenly went slowly past a Halls of Residence ….”Abbey Hall College, Cambridge”…Then we trundled slowly through Cambridge train station…😳. We shouldn’t be any near Cambridge. 😧Cambridge is nowhere near where we usually go……But the fact that everyone else started to get up and panic made me panic less. The fact that everyone else thought they were on the wrong train was very comforting……….One person close by even said to her partner, “I’m going to sleep, wake me up when it’s all over”….😂😂

Obviously people then started to track down the conductor who was in hiding somewhere as we got an announcement…..They’d forgotten to tell us that due to engineering works we were going the scenic way………

We passed by some lovely views. A huge expanse of water that had a hint of the Fens about it – surely not…….people were taking photos left right and centre. Two spaniards sat opposite me, and on their way to visit the city of culture, were enthralled by the scenary. Sadly I couldn’t replicate their photo taking as I didn’t have a window seat.

We then went through March…….never been to March before……Whittlesea (bit worrying that it ends in ‘sea’ but couldn’t see the coast anywhere…..At this rate we’d be having to go  OVER the Humber Bridge to get to Hull…….

Suddenly the driver must have stumbled on a familiar track as we started to race at normal speed. Sure enough East Anglia seemed to be a distant memory and we were back in familiar scenary again and before we knew it we pulled into Grantham……ahhhhhhhh……back in familiar territory….and people got off so I could sit by the window😊

And the sky looked wonderful as we headed towards Hull

img_4440

And we even passed by a new windmill – I think…..

img_4449

but best of all, it was soooooo nice to finally see the Humber again….

img_4452

And then the Humber Bridge ….

img_4449

I did have another train and bus to catch but at least it meant I was nearly home…..

I’m still not convinced the driver hadn’t taken a wrong turning………..left the hotel at 08.40 and walked in my door at 3.30…….😴🤐..I’m just not meant to travel……..

My head was still banging from yesterday and today had only added to its state, so needless to say, the first I did when I got to my lovely sunny village was make a cuppa tea……….although that might have been the first thing whatever state I was in….😜

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

6 thoughts on “Post mortem of my journey home from London…..

  1. I know it must have been a horrible experience for you at the time, but your account of it has made me laugh out loud at my desk. I especially loved the lady’s ‘wake me up when it’s all over’ comment. You’re so much better at keeping a sense of humour in these situations than i would ever be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

