Visit to the dentist and Radio York

Last Wednesday saw me trundling to York for a visit to the dentist and my 6 monthly chat at Radio York with the lovely Jonathan Cowap.
Unlike Monday, when I forgot to order the early morning, pre bus, taxi, to get to my support group of Minds and Voices (😱it meant I missed the session as I missed my bus to York😔),
However, on Wednesday, I caught the first bus from the village and had an hours wait for the bus to York – but at least I caught it this time!

It was a very wet, misty murky morning.

I still have to go to York for a dentist as I can’t get an appointment in my local town, which is a real nuisance but not impossible at the mo. Hopefully one will come up trumps before I find travelling on the bus a chore, after all it’s doubly important for everyone to make a trip to the dentist, but triply important for someone with dementia. The once daily routine can easily get forgotten or not done properly.

Anyway, I arrived in York in plenty of time to walk the other side of town for my appointment, passing the lovely river as I ambled along.

img_2077

And I could see all the famous daffodils starting to peak through. They would fill the banks of the city walls in a few weeks time and look stunning.

img_2079

I got to the dentist with time to spare and sat chatting to the receptionist as she was asking me questions about dementia, which was nice. My dentist is brilliant and tries exceptionally hard to help me. It was the turn of the hygienist today and they have spent lots of time with me trying to find solutions and alternatives. That’s why I don’t mind continuing to see them as I might have to start all over again with a new dentist.
They didn’t have anyone after me today so spent extra time on me showing me how to use the new mini inbetweeny things that help when I think I’ve brushed my teeth long enough and clearly havn’t……

I know it’s expensive to visit the dentist, but well worth saving up if you can,as to have problems is even worse. I call these mini loo brushes, as that’s what they look like to me which amused the hygienist….

img_4377

After that I made my way to Radio York and had a lovely chat with Jonathan Cowap. He invites me there every 6 months or so for a catch up. I told him about the ‘Christmas blip’. Giving myself a rest from everything nearly worked against me and just proved that not keeping my brain active shuts it down. It was very scary not being able to type an email and not being able to find the letters on the keyboard. Jonathan likened it to him having a fortnights holiday from work and then not remembering what all the buttons are for. It’s just like that, when you feel sluggish and havn’t built up speed on the treadmill. However,  I had trouble working out where the letters were on the keyboard – what keys I had to press to make a word – scary. Definitely a case of use it or lose it.

That’s why I always try to persuade supporters of people with dementia not to automatically do things for their loved ones. Instead try to help them to find a different way to do it themselves. A simple example is tieing the shoelace of someone with dementia instead of buying slip on shoes for them to put on the,selves. For the kindest of reasons, you’re creating problems instead of helping.

We spoke of many things that I’ve forgotten now, but it’ll be nice to listen to the broadcast whenever they decide to play it…..
Always nice to catch up with Jonathan…….

img_2083

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Visit to the dentist and Radio York

  1. Use it or lose . So important, but so easily forgotten. These days I take such a long time to construct a sentence. Ironic for an editor! I battle on with determination,but often change words for shorter words to make some sense. It’s saddening, but a means to an end. I am making myself type quite a bit in the hope that this might help. I am also just starting free an online teaching course. Adding some wobbly Spanish to my skills will probably rock the boat, but I feel that I have to press on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

