Visit by local radio station……..

Yesterday I had a visit from a local radio station KCFM. They’d seen an article I’d done for the Humber Trust about being the local Patient Research Ambassador for the Humber Trust. You can read the article here if it interests you:

http://www.humber.nhs.uk/news/Living-with-Dementia-Wendys-story-What-I-want-isnt-sympathy-its-simply-to-raise-awareness.htm

They initially contacted me via Twitterland but then emailed the Trust asking for my email, which I agreed to.

Now normally when someone contacts me asking to record an interview, I ask for a list of questions so I’m prepared and nothing surprises me………for some reason I didn’t. For some inexplicable reason I made an assumption that they wanted to ask about my role as Patient Research Ambassador …….

I always assume they’ll want me to say a bit about myself first and I know never to assume anything, but sadly my brain didn’t engage properly on this one.

img_4331

A lovely smiley Danny from the station arrived on time – always a good start😊.

However, as I said, I didn’t ask for a list of questions so he threw me a tad when he went straight in by asking what it feels like to have dementia. It’s a question I’ve answered many times before, but never as the first one so it caught me on the hop. I can’t remember what I said but I’m sure it wasn’t my usual response.

It became apparent that they wanted me to talk about me whereas I wanted to talk about research involvement. It wasn’t until Danny had left and I wrote my blog that I realised this. I quite happily spoke about how I’d adapted my way of living, my blog etc but luckily I had some notes in front of me which I suddenly saw.. He also jogged my brain by asking me about services in the area. This brought me to say how there are no services for someone my age and at my stage of dementia, which meant I could then talk about research involvement – result!

He asked what the health authority should do in these times of financial constraints and I said they should work together with the voluntary sector but more importantly it should encourage all healthcare professionals to hand out hope in the form of Join Dementia Research leaflets.
After all this doesn’t ‘cost’ anything. It doesn’t seep into anyone’s financial budget.

https://www.joindementiaresearch.nihr.ac.uk/

I’m sure I said other stuff and he took a photo for their web site, of me with my ipad and blog which I made sure I had opened at the recent research blog on Journeying through dementia. So I hope they give the interview some air time and include the bit about the value of research involvement.

When there are no services, involvement in research is one way to give you hope and our local research team, led by Cathryn Hart, has lots of smiley friendly faces who are committed to dementia research………..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Visit by local radio station……..

  1. I hope this Danny person reads this and realises that wading straight in with that question was crass, and probably bad journalism, to say the least. You are doing loads to raise awareness Wendy and, as you actually have direct experience, it counts so much more than when the rest of us talk about it. Keep on doing what you’re doing. xx

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

