My 2 favourite Christmas presents…

Yes, ok, I know Christmas is a distant memory but I couldn’t resist telling you about my 2 favourtists presents. Obviously I had many wonderful presents but 2 in particular were perfect……

The first is a book by Marian Keyes. Now I’m sure I must have mentioned that I can’t read books as I use to, mainly because you have to remember the plot….🙄 I’d never read one of her books before and I know I couldn’t read one of her novels now, but Gemma bought me her latest:

“Making it up as I Go Along”…

It’s the most perfect book for someone with dementia – why? Because it’s a collection of autobiographical articles, most of which are only 3 or 4 pages long – PERFECT!!

img_4318

I hadn’t realised what an hilarious writer she is. I actually laugh out loud at so many of her ramblings. She even put them in handy little sections. The way they were isolated articles meant you could actually read them in any order and even start at the back and work forward if you so desired. In the introduction Marian stated:

“I’ve arranged them so you can dip in and out and read them any way you like…….Feel free to break the rules”

Love it and the perfect book for me. I can read a whole article without any problem and don’t have to remember it when I pick up the book the following night.

There are numerous brilliant articles but my 2 favourite ones so far have been a description of Marian managing to get tickets for a live performance of Strictly Come Dancing and her bezottedness with Pasha and a very moving article about her meeting Aung San Suu Kyi ( Burma’s pro-democracy leader and Nobel Peace laureate, spent more than 15 years in detention, most of it under house)

I’ve never been so entertained by a book. Her humour is priceless. AND the bonus is…..I’ll be able to read it time and time again!

I said there were 2 favourites……well the other was from Sarah and is a local scene of the wonderful Westwood, which I trundle past nearly every day and never ceases to enchant me. It now sits on the wall opposite my chair, and I frequently find myself staring at it with delight…..

img_4319

10 thoughts on “My 2 favourite Christmas presents…

  1. I love your postings! Have you thought of contacting Marian Keyes to let her know what an impact her book has on people with dementia? I am sure she would be delighted to hear it. Please keep on posting as you are educating people on what it is to live with it. Truly educational ❤️ Take care.

    Like

  2. I, too, thank you for the book recommendation. Being able to read short stories is perfect for busy people, right?! Inspiration doesn’t usually take too long “o) YOU are inspiring, Wendy!

    Like

  3. Thank you Wendy. You are so good at describing your challenges in a positive way. This gives us both insight and answers! I love hearing about the little celebratory moments too. Your dementia journey has been helpful to so many , so thank you for sharing with us and being so inspirational.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.