Listen to the silence ……..Poem

Listen to the Silence

Listen……what can you hear?

The ticking of a clock
The drip of a tap
The purr of a cat
The post dropping on the mat

Birds in the garden having a feed
The wind rustling leaves high on a tree
Traffic on a road far far away
Silence rarely comes alone

Shhhhhh – silence is never alone – just listen…..

From my dear friend Google...
From my dear friend Google…
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

6 thoughts on “Listen to the silence ……..Poem

  1. I love these kind of poems Wendy. Try this one I wrote in 2009 while on holiday in north Suffolk. I hope you like it and can interact with it with your own ‘moments in time’! Thank you for your articles; they help me understand a little more some of the people I care for every day!

    My Senses, My Memories

    Close your eyes, what do you see?
    Do you see honeycombs?
    The fire dancer’s golden rings?
    Splashes of red on a sea of calm water?
    A clove?
    Black edges of the spider’s travel lines?
    Blue suns radiating shimmering tinsel?
    Lime green triangles – three brush strokes on canvas?

    Close your eyes, what do you hear?
    The rippling of wind on water?
    The morning chatter over feathered teas?
    The splash of mallards on the farmer’s lake?
    The deep gruff gaggle of turkeys in fields?
    The seagulls raucous demands and giggles?

    Close your eyes, what do you feel?
    The soft wisp of breath from nose to lip?
    The hug of wind?
    The friendship of chatter?
    The warm inner glow of excitement and peace?

    Close your eyes, what do you smell?
    Burnt toast from lazy breakfast’s plate?
    Coffee brewing, bubbling hot?
    New mown grass and rain on the air?
    Sweet pungent odours of farm manure
    Wafting on the summer breeze?
    Earthy clods all newly turned
    And wet by nighttime’s watering maid?

    Close your eyes, what do you taste?
    The cleansing bubbles of brush and paste?
    The melting moment of yesterday’s treat?
    The salty drops of joyful tears
    On upturned tongue over dry cracked lips?

    A moment in time
    A picture forever
    Is captured in senses
    Too magical to measure
    The past comes to visit
    With smiles and passion
    My senses the vehicle
    For memories forgotten.

    Rose K.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Wendy. Enjoyed reading your poem on silence. Too true that there is never any silence. I often take a couple of minutes out of every day and just stop listen. Very rewarding and reaffirms that I am still alive! There is no sound if you are not present.

    I hope you are sleeping a bit better as I think you mentioned in one of your blogs you’re struggling to get off to sleep. Must be so frustrating. Did you say you’re taking part in research on sleep disorders and the effect it has?

    As for my Dad, he sleeps too much. Lack of sleep must be so frustrating. As for my Dad I don’t think he ever gets good quality sleep. Some days he wakes up totally confused, then others he is so much better From what I’ve heard from my Mum for some time he has suffered from sleep apnea (not sure of the spelling sorry, it must be about 30 years) I think maybe it is the disease that causes this rather than the sleep disorder that has caused the dementia.

    ps. I had a test message sent from your daughter, but I couldn’t access the link so couldn’t reply.

    All the best,

    Martin x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Martin
      Lack of sleep and too much sleep are very common with dementia. I’m still looking for a trial.

      I had all sorts of problems with the blog yesterday and when my daughter finally looked at it, Word Press had updated some settings but I hadn’t realised.xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

