Community Physio visit……..

Several months ago, I went to my Gp asking him to refer me to physiotherapy to see if they could help with my wobble walk….
I could self refer but you had to do it by phone……I find using the phone difficult. I did think that standing next to Sarah, my daughter, while she rang for me would be ok……..WRONG……they needed me to be able to speak on the phone……..the only alternative was to go see my Gp and get him to refer me – Me thinks that process could be streamlined to make better use of time……….😔

Anyway, off I trundled to my Gp with the innocent request to be referred to the physio department. While I was there he decided to check my blood pressure – which was perfect. But alarm bells obviously rang in his head when he saw all the bruises on my arm and unbeknown to me I suddenly get a call from the Falls nurse…….🙄

I’m sure I must have written a blog about that experience as I remember it not being a particularly good encounter – now I’ve searched through, that visit was at the beginning of November.

The district nurse said she would refer me to physio……

Just before Christmas – I think – or it might have been just after, I had another phone message from an Occupational therapist asking to visit.
Remember – I don’t use the phone – the Gp assured me he’d get people to write to me….but no, message after message left and me waiting for Sarah to have time to pop over to sort it out for me.

Anyway, Occupational therapist came and although we went through same depressing beginning to conversation, things perked up when she finally began to talk to me instead of Sarah. Once we’d got over that hurdle, the visit went really well and she scored a shed full of brownie points by understanding and listening.She even organised for another handrail up the stairs as she wasn’t convinced I wouldn’t fall down with just the one. Those people have even contacted me by email to come this week. So you can see why I liked her and I was really hopeful for the future when I might need her again,  only to be told that she was simply covering someone else’s area – so sadly, she wouldn’t be the OT I would have in the future, but hopefully her colleague will be just as tuned in.
What about the physio, I asked……..?

The OT said she would refer me to the physio……..

Well finally, this week I had a visit from the physio. The person I wanted originally……only took since last Autumn……I even had the appointment come by post – brownie point
But had to ring and confirm the appointment🙄 – brownie point deducted……..
She had a nice smiley face so I instantly warmed to her. After watching me wobble, she explained to me what Gait Ataxia is and why I have it. Once she explained it to me, it all became clear. I can cope with things when I understand them and now I understand it. There is research going on into Gait and Dementia, but once again, it’s not in my area😔
There was a very funny moment when she tried to get me to walk heel first – sounds simple, doesn’t it? Very difficult and wobble took over.

Don’t get me wrong, I can still get about fine, just in my own wobble way. I’m worse when I get up the night and first thing in the morning – very unco-ordinated legs then….

Obviously there’s no cure and it will get worse, but she explained how I can help myself. How using 2 sticks will help keep me on the straight and narrow in the future if I don’t feel like using 2 now. I pointed out that having 2 now means you need a 3rd arm to carry any shopping….

I wasn’t too keen on the suggestion of getting the 4 wheeled thingy with breaks……😳 only to try indoors 😱…….but it’s taken me so long to get to see someone that I thought it best not to say no and at least I will have it when I need it and, like my stick, I can get use to the idea…….. by staring at it……….😊

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

8 thoughts on “Community Physio visit……..

  1. I have a good friend who was reluctant to use a walker (she has Parkinson’s & Alzheimer’s). I was fortunate enough to be there when the O.T delivered her’s. It was wonderful to see the confidence & stability it gave her within literally moments. I don’t know who had the biggest smile of the three of us. So many aids can promote independence & prolong mobility. The one thing my friend & often say; is how our sense of humour has helped us cope (I know you have found the same with your family & friends). Your blog is very helpful to many people. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Better to have it and not need it” is a phrase my partner loves to use. It can be difficult adapting to using a mobility aid Wendy but it can also be very liberating. I speak as a 10 year + wheelchair user….

    All the best xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Wendy
    I enjoyed today’s blog! I have MS and therefore my walking is not great and nor is my balance. I have got a 4 wheeled walker and I must say I find it really good – my walking is much better with it than using just a stick as I am better balanced. I also love the fact that it’s got a seat so I can sit down when I need to rest as I never know when my legs will need a break. I hope you find yours helpful although I realise you aren’t keen – nor was I at first 😉
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know from experience how hard it is to make the step to using a rollator (that’s what we call them in Canada) but I don’t even think about that anymore. I can go so much further afield on photography walks with my cat who comes along on a leash and the basket is great for shopping. I do understand though that it would be another step away from what you are used to. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

