Dementia Without Walls web site…………

Today I want to recommend a wonderful web site to those who may not have discovered it yet! It’s a great resource for all professionals. You’ll need to copy and paste the address into your internet I’m afraid as I can’t make it a simple click this time or it comes out really weird…..🤔http://dementiawithoutwalls.org.uk/thinking-differently-about-dementia/engagement/

The web site was originally started through the Joseph Rowntree Foundation:

“JRF’s Dementia without Walls programme ran from June 2012 to the end of 2015. JRF wanted to help ensure that people living with dementia are more understood, more heard, more included, more connected and more supported – with and by each other, their local communities and society as a whole.”

“ Although the programme has come to an end, the work continues through these partnerships and through DEEP, the UK Network of Dementia Voices.”

The biggest contributors are people with dementia themselves – with the help from the lovely Nada Savitch and equally lovely Philly Hare.

This week Nada put together a wonderful video featuring many of us talking about how and why we speak out……

Once you’ve copied and pasted the web address, scroll down to the bottom and watch the video, ‘the impact of dementia activism’ – you’ll see many of my wonderful friends who are also living with dementia.

img_4025

The DEEP network of group, made up of people with dementia, is increasing in number all the time and we now have over 80 across the length and breadth of the country. More and more we’re finding people wanting to come and talk and involve us in local decisions. My own group, Minds and Voices is always having visits from researches looking for willing volunteers, and local agencies wanting our views…….I’m always saying that if people don’t include us from the start, how do they know they’re going to get it right and not waste money?

More can be found about the DEEP network here and you can also see if there’s a group near you:

http://dementiavoices.org.uk/

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Dementia Without Walls web site…………

Leave a Reply

