Victoria Derbyshire Programme – highlighting PIP fiasco……

A while back I had a visit from Jim Reed who is the lovely reporter for the Victoria Derbyshire programme on BBC 2. Jim made the original film I made a year or so ago. He’d contacted me as the programme was going to do a feature on the farce that is called PIP and wanted to interview me about my experience. He’d found many others in a similar position.

Well, for those interested, yesterday the programme was aired. Below his a link to the section on the programme: Diane, a lovely lady who has Parkinsons is first on the film and then my story.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p04hb0hw

Watching the programme brought back all the sadness once again which just reiterated for me that I’d made the right decision not to take it to the tribunal. Life is a daily struggle as it is without being continually brought down by the system. It doesn’t just affect me, it affects my daughters as well and their well being is first and foremost in my mind. All I hope is that this brings those that can influence, to their senses, and that people with with incurable conditions that can only get worse, become exempt from the demoralising assessments.

Jim, as always with his reports, did a brilliant job and the way the programme dealt with it was perfect. Thank you Jim😊

The MP Richard Graham – Conservative MP from the Works and Pension committee – interviewed very well by Victoria,  in a discussion at the end of the programme, said I should go to my MP for help……..well someone sent my blog re PIP to my MP and he wrote back to say that PIP wasn’t meant for people like me ……….

img_4026

……….so I’ll give that a miss as he appears to have missed the point too…….

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

9 thoughts on “Victoria Derbyshire Programme – highlighting PIP fiasco……

  1. I didn’t see you on the actual programme, but had the link sent to me by the Alzheimer’s Society, which I then shared on Facebook. I shall share this blog post too, if that’s ok with you. Absolutely appalling situation – especially your MPs reaction which makes me very angry. Stay calm though. You are amazing and are doing so much to raise awareness of all the issues around this illness. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi Wendy, That letter from your MP makes me even more cross on your behalf! Though we probably shouldn’t be surprised – as a Conservative MP I guess he has to defend his party’s ludicrous policies. All we can do is carry on raising the issue on social media, and every other way we can, in the hope that eventually we can shame them into making some changes. My local MP (Labour) is very supportive, so if anyone else who reads your blog wants to lobby their MPs to ask questions and keep the issue alive that at least feels like we’re doing *something* to help. (You were great on the programme by the way!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Wendy, your MP is a cruel, clueless (unprintable word!). But what can you expect from a Tory? 😉 Though he’s right about one thing – you can re-apply for PIP so long as it’s before you’re 65. Should you feel you’re getting worse, please do re-apply. Though obviously I hope that time is a long time off.

    You did good on that TV clip – as always you are raising awareness, a Very Important Thing to do. (Um – I’ve suddenly gone all Winnie the Pooh there! Sorry!) I think that you probably make a lot more difference than you realise. All power to your elbow! 😉 🙂

    With cyber-hugs and best wishes from Liverpool, Maggie.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wendy, we in Oz are outraged by your case….though not surprised.

    Some PLWD are likely to have similar issues with our National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) assessment process and others have had to wait for months to get any sort of in-home support post Dx.
    Assessors need education about dementia, how pathways and progression are uncertain, the symptoms people have to deal with and how unpredictable that can be.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

