Changing emotions…..

Following on from yesterdays blog where I mentioned the PIP.

I’m sure I’ve written about emotions before. When I was talking to someone recently about ‘losing’ the ability to get angry or annoyed, they said people mellow with age. However, those people can usually still get annoyed or still get angry if they really wanted to – the difference with me is, I’ve lost that ability..

I have 3 emotions – happy, sad or content.

img_4006

I really believe that people with dementia can lose emotions. We’ve heard of the type of dementia that affects and changes peoples personality, well I think this is closely related. If anything was going to test my theory, it was the PIP being turned down. I’ve got no doubt in my mind that pre dementia I would have been angry and been able to channel that anger into appealing . But now I no longer feel anger. When I got the letter I simply cried as it made me sad – I couldn’t feel anger or simple annoyance.
It’s very difficult to fight something when it makes you sad as no one wants to be permanently sad and that’s how I would have felt.

That’s why I can’t fight the PIP – no anger just sadness.

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

5 thoughts on “Changing emotions…..

  1. I find looking after someone with dementia hightens the emotions, imagine what I said to a man , ( when parking using the blue badge, ). when he said “you,re not disabled”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That’s such a valuable insight into the mind of someone who has dementia. I’d never thought of that before, but it answers a lot of concerns I had about my parents. Thanks Wendy. I’m learning so much from reading your blog. Your readers, who are still dealing with it themselves, or via a relative or friend, are so lucky to have the benefit of your thoughts. x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, Wendy, you certainly seem to know how you DO feel about things…and describe WHY very eloquently! Thankyou for sharing so much of your experience…and those beautiful photos of misty landscapes yesturday.
    With love
    Sally

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

