2 Visitors in one day…….

Yesterday I was lucky enough to have 2 visitors at home, so I didn’t have to venture out into the cold…….

My first was someone who had driven all the way from Staffordshire to see me. Linda is the manager for the Charity for Civil servants…(didn’t hold that against her…). She’d asked to see me to talk about supporting people in the workplace.

The charity supports employees in the civil service as well as past employees so they’re extremely lucky, but as with all good things, employees, both past and present, for some reason don’t take advantage of such a valuable resource……

We spoke of my experience whilst still in work, what I see as key support for those diagnosed with a long term condition as well as the education and help needed for those who are trying to juggle work and supporting someone with a long term condition.

I emphasised the need for managers to have the right attitude and ability to help themselves or know where to signpost. Just because a person has ‘manager’ in their title doesn’t automatically mean they have the right personality and attitude to helping people….

We spoke of the importance of having various ways to contact the charity as not everyone feels comfortable using the phone, and of the importance of TALKING. People often have to ‘learn to talk’ at a time when it’s most difficult……

Peer support was high on my list – both for the people living with the condition and supporters as a network of ‘friends’ is invaluable.

It was lovely hearing about the charity and I provided Linda with lots of links to useful organisations, including the DEEP web site, so hopefully worth the long drive……

She also brought me some lovely flowers....
She also brought me some lovely flowers….

The second visit of the day was from a district nurse….my Gp had noticed all the bruises on my arms when he took my blood pressure recently. When I told him I used my arms to stop me falling due to my ‘wobble’, he thought he’d better get a Falls assessment done. ( Can’t resist pointing out that the PIP people said I had ‘normal gait’…….even though I havn’t for at least 12-18 months…..)

Anyway I digress, as ever…..the appointment hadn’t been without its challenges, as once again they think everyone can use the phone…….It took some persuasion on my daughters part to convince them to email me, but they did, so small brownie point earned so far….
Well, the DN arrived not quite knowing how she could help……She asked several times whether there was any point in continuing and each time I said I didn’t know – firstly because I can’t make decisions and secondly, because I didn’t know what she was going to do…….but the more questions she asked, the more she decided that it would probably be a good idea to do the assessment. I was surprised that she didn’t know I had dementia………………thought my notes would be briefly looked through to see what the problem might be, but then maybe that’s not routine……🙄
She was very surprised I didn’t have any services…….and was also surprised that I hadn’t heard from the physio referral my Gp was supposed to have made a month or so ago……

Anyway, we went through the process and she promised to find out about the physio appointment. She was very nice but I got the impression she felt at a loss as to how she could help me……..but then, as I’ve found out, that’s par for the course…..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “2 Visitors in one day…….

Leave a Reply

