Back amongst friends…

Yesterday I was back in York for my monthly meeting with friends at Minds and Voices.

The meeting starts at 10.30 so it was an early start on the first bus of the day.
The day began very cold but at least it was dry, nice and sunny

img_3932

The autumn colours still looked amazing and there were still many leaves on the trees in the museum gardens once I got to York….

img_1843

Damian kindly agreed to meet me in the usual place and gave me a lift to the venue.

We got there and were soon joined by Emily and sorted the important bit – making the tea…

Everyone soon started to arrive. Martha – a trainee clinical psychologist student from Hull joined us to convince everyone to take part in her research about what it’s like to live with dementia called Gratitude.
Caroline, an Occupational Therapist, was here from Hartlepool to see how our group worked……

Emily reminded us that we used to be called Dementia Forum – someone asked me that the other day and I didn’t have a scooby doo….

The taxi firm was running late but eventually we had a full house……..

img_3937

We all introduced ourselves – Liz mentioned at the end how someone had come up to her and said ‘You can’t have dementia cos I’ve seen you walking around town….”………..enough said……

It was such a big group that we agreed that today we needed to take it in turns to speak so that everyone gets a turn.

Martha started off by telling us about her research – Gratitude and what it means to people. It’s not saying people should be grateful for having dementia but for example, grateful for this group, looking at life differently since a diagnosis.

Very jealous as I don’t qualify cos I’m too young as you have to be 65 for this one.
We had an interesting discussion around age discrimination around dementia and services……..
Caroline then spoke about her role around re enablement. To allow people with dementia to do the things they want to.

Paul said ‘If you’ve got it flaunt it’………ha! Dementia, that is…..

There was an interesting chat about reading habits and how they’ve changed.Some people have stopped reading, others, like myself read differently now – I read short stuff now and simply don’t worry if I don’t remember what I’ve read. It used to bug me but now it simply doesn’t matter.

We spoke about setting up a training group for newly diagnosed – for us to become tutors – giving talks and sharing our stories to those newly diagnosed and inviting people to join our group where it’s alright to have a laugh and not worry about doing things wrong.
So in February we’ll start the talks around replicating the course that already exists in Stockport.
It’s produced by people with dementia for newly diagnosed people with dementia……

Lunch time called at this point and my mind and body were in first gear……….so I decided to call it a day and make sure I got home before it got dark……….

It was lovely to be amongst so much laughter again….and my favourite view from my favourite bridge looked lovely as always…….

img_1844

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

8 thoughts on “Back amongst friends…

  1. Why not suggest to the Department of Health and local providers that every memory clinic should have a list of people with dementia who would be willing to meet the newly diagnosed person with their spouse, care partner or friend?

    There are already people who do this when a baby is born with Down Syndrome or other congenital impairment such as spina bifida. Some parents are in shock, just like many of us, and can’t accept help from others at first but do so later and later become members of the support group for others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely Peter – we’re trying to replicate what already happens in Stockport but have had to get funding to do so as wouldn’t happen otherwise…..😔as with most things, sadly comes down to money…..hope you’re well:)

      Like

      1. Why does it need money? The clinic can write to people to ask if they would be willing to do this, the local Alzheimers Society could organise it, a dementia-friendly community could support it. Its what used to be called Big Society until people realised that Society could be very divisive and dangerous.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Wendy The group sounds fun as always. The research sounds interesting and people under 65 would benefit too and carers from the Gratitude research. Enjoy the autumn weather

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

