2 years this week since I started my blog……

October 25th 2014 was the first day I started writing my blog – boy, what a lot has happened in 2 years – and I’ve met so many amazing people who I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to meet if I hadn’t been diagnosed with dementia, so every cloud………………here’s what I wrote 2 years ago………

 

Today is the first day of recording my daily ramblings of living with dementia. Why today? Well, my experiences up until now have always been as though Alzheimer’s was in the future. This week has been a bad week and I’ve realised that Alzheimer’s is now part of (and increasingly encroaching on) my life. So today seems as good a day as any to acknowledge the need to learn to live with it and adapt my life with each challenge it throws at me.

Will anyone read this? Maybe, maybe not. The purpose of venturing into this whole new world is to allow me a way to record what it’s like to live with dementia as the condition takes hold. To write my thoughts, experiences and views. I think both academics and professionals in all fields – cause, cure, care and prevention- could find my ramblings a useful insight into the reality of day to day living with Alzheimer’s. Others may find they too have similar experiences which lead to the acknowledgement that they are not alone. However, if the only purpose it serves is the ability to give me the opportunity to empty my head of thoughts and tangles in order to make room for new thoughts, then it will have been a useful exercise.

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

22 thoughts on “2 years this week since I started my blog……

  1. Hello Wendy

    To me your blog has been a source of wonder and has given me insights that I am grateful for And so thank you.

    I and others mentioned your blog yesterday at the University of Newcastle DTC meeting. Students and staff were interested. The students feel they don’t have enough contact with people living with dementia.

    Keep up the good work

    Best wishes as always Barbara

    Sent from my iPad

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dear Wendy,
    I am so grateful for your blog. Your insights about your illness and your contagious positive attitude have helped me a lot during the past couple of years, both professionally and personally.
    So, thank you, thank you and thank you again for keeping such a wonderful daily diary!

    All the very best from Italy,

    eloisa

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow! Amazing well done Wendy for keeping that going for 2 years. You must have been nervous when you first began writing the blog, but you have reached out to so many like my Mum and myself for which we are very grateful. Please don’t stop writing as you are inspirational. Billy looks so loving as well and I always enjoy reading his occasional blogs. How old is he?

    I think you should write a book about your experiences as you touch so many people from those suffering, to carers, professionals, friends and family.

    Best wishes,

    Martin

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I feel privileged to be one of your readers … and you thought you might get any! I also shared your blog with my colleagues at the Alzheimer’s Society so your fame is spreading far and wide! The more people are aware that life, a quality life, does go on after diagnosis, the better. You’re doing a brilliant job – keep doing it! Best wishes. xx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wendy, I think you have been wise and insightful to undertake this venture. I am a Dementia Friend Champion and I mention you often in my sessions, I hope that’s OK? You are a source of inspiration to many I am sure. Keep blogging!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Happy second birthday, as always you are compulsory reading, and inspirational, we constantly quote you and pass on your blog, keep at it ! With love Veronica

    Liked by 2 people

  7. ALOHA Wendy! I am a Maui wedding planner but now live in Southern California and travel to and from here to Hawaii for work. My mom has dementia and yet has never been diagnosed with Alzheimers. It seems to me that her symptoms are so similar. A friend posted your video on her FB page and I am so glad that I came across it! I wept as I read that you feel safe and happy when you see family or friends. My mother can no longer communicate but I pray that she does have those happy feelings when she sees me. She still recognizes me but I so wish she could say what she is thinking but she can no longer find the words. Tell your daughters every day how much you love them! You are a champion to all of us, Wendy! Thank you for helping us all understand so much more about this terrible disease. God bless you! Keep up the great work and know that you are making a huge difference in the lives of many.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

