Update on my relationship with Hull Royal……….

Update on my relationship with Hull Royal……….

Back in January this year and I only know that from looking at the date on my blog….I had an horrendous experience at Hull Royal General Hospital. There’s a link to the blog below for anyone that’s interested…….

https://whichmeamitoday.wordpress.com/2016/01/28/definitely-not-a-case-of-person-centred-care/?preview_id=2805&preview_nonce=5c36b24575&post_format=standard&_thumbnail_id=-1&preview=true

I had an enormous response to the blog I wrote at the time and complained through PALs to the Trust itself. Basically the system seemed to be broken and my observation at the time described an unsmiley culture and a feeling that patients were an inconvenience.

My complaint to PALs led to a meeting, which at the time, seemed very positive but as time went on I soon realised they were simply going through the motions of appeasing me and promised solutions never materialised. I refused to return……

However, I then met people in the region who did care, including Janet Woodhouse, who has appeared in many blogs. Janet recently introduced me to the new Dementia Lead for the Trust, Suzy Bunton and mentioned my experience.To cut a long story short I was offered another appointment at Hull Royal to try and address all my previous negative feelings.

One concern I’d raised was the use of the phone being the only way to contact them re appointments – I find the phone very difficult now. To Suzy’s credit, she organised email contact with the appointments department – BIG TICK and made a conversation so much easier.

Anyway, the appointment was on Monday. I must admit that I had a feeling of trepidation at the thought of returning but Suzy had agreed to meet me and Gemma in reception and come with us to the department – mainly so we could show her the difficulties from the start.

The start of the journey was the same with the dreadful booking in machine..

img_3630
You sign in and then it tells you where to go and where to sit – I tried to get my ipad ready to take a photo of that screen but the instructions disappeared within seconds – luckily that was the time Suzy appeared so we could explain how once that screen went blank I didn’t have a clue where to go………not a good start but she had already noted that as an issue for everyone.

As Suzy accompanied us to the department we showed her how sad, depressing and confusing the route was – the stairs leading to the department looked closed and and the corridors bare and unfriendly.

img_3633

However, once we got to the department, my name was immediately called out. Gemma recognised the health care as the unsmiley person of our first trip but this time she engaged me in conversation and did smile…….I was then immediately taken into see the Consultant. Obviously this felt very stage managed as this would never happen, especially when you’re early for an appointment. It also didn’t give us a chance to observe…….but hey ho.

The Consultant had been briefed on my previous experience and clearly wanted to do his best for me. I didn’t feel rushed and his examination was extremely thorough. Appointments are always very intense affairs as I’m conscious of having to concentrate really hard to try and ensure I remember everything – which I didn’t, so really glad Gemma was with me to fill in the gaps.
My balance caused most concern and one surprising thing the Consultant said was that the dementia and balance aren’t related. I know of research under way at the mo on balance and gait in dementia so not sure I agree with his thinking. However, he is sorting a scan which will look at the movement part of my brain so we’ll see …….

I remember very little about the content of the appointment but I came away feeling positive, as did Gemma. All in all I was impressed with the way the appointment went. We were with the doctor for 45 minutes, which I realise isn’t normal and probably won’t be repeated, but the effort was made, which was appreciated, but also thanks to the intervention of others.

As I waited for Gemma before we left, I spoke to 2 other families wandering lost and anxious in the corridors, unable to find where they were going, so signage and friendly faces to ask must be lacking……….funnily enough me and Gemma commented on a sign as we came into the building. I’d love to know the difference between “Emergency Care’ in one direction and ‘Emergency Department’ in the opposite – very confusing……..

img_3632
The whole process was very intense – simply trying to make sure I remembered everything and having to concentrate so hard – I ended up with a banging headache, but the process served it’s purpose…..and I went away far happier than my first visit…watch this space……

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Update on my relationship with Hull Royal……….

  1. Hi Wendy, your blog is very interesting. I am a researcher at University of Oxford, and am looking for people like you who might be interested in taking part in a study – the details are below. If you, or any of your followers might like to find out more, please do get in touch, the details are below. Interviews can be conducted in your home, and you could have a friend/carer there too if that helps you. Very best wishes, Susan

    The INQUIRE project: Interviewing patients and the public who have used the internet to express their views about healthcare , or have read other people’s comments.

    • Have you ever read other people’s online comments or posts about their views or experiences of healthcare ?
    • Or perhaps you have posted or written about your own health or healthcare experiences online?
    • Are you 18 or over?

    We would like to find out more about how and why patients and members of the public have used the internet to express their views about healthcare , or read other people’s comments. We are interested in people’s use of a range of internet platforms e.g. Twitter, YouTube, blogs, health forums, patient feedback websites and NHS complaints forums

    If you have used the internet for this purpose, we would like to invite you to take part in an interview with one of our researchers. An interview will typically last between 45 minutes and one hour. A researcher could interview you at your home, or elsewhere if you prefer. Interviews may also take place by telephone or online if preferred.

    If you are interested and would like to find out more about what is involved please contact:
    Susan Kirkpatrick
    Email: susan.kirkpatrick@phc.ox.ac.uk
    Phone 07787 294170

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

