“The Smallest Story Ever Told…”

Tuesday, I was back in London on the first train of the day.

David Loumgair who directed the original production in London…………emailed me back in May asking if I would be involved in the research and development of a project the Theatre Company were working on. They had been awarded funding by the Arts Council England. They intend to rework “The smallest story ever told”.

It tells the tale of a young couple – Charlie & Amy.  Amy was diagnosed with young onset dementia in her 30’s. Amy is an author in the play – it’s tells the story of their family relationship, which spans from when the met at 18, getting diagnosed and goes passed her death. All this in reverse, so it starts after her death and works back through her life…..which is a lovely twist.

It was given good reviews before but it’s a developing story and it’s so nice to think Rob, the writer is prepared to enhance and change the story line. It can, after all, be played from many angles…..and it’s a great way to tell the story from different view points and get across different messages. In fact, I think I remember Rob, the writer, saying how he’s already reworked the story many times…..well, Rob, you could make this story the only story you write as I could give you many options…..😂😂

I was on my favourite train which is the first of the day from Beverley and the only train of the day to go direct to Kings Cross, so no changes👍. It’s also my favourite company – Hull Trains – as you have free wifi all the way, power points and big roomie seats – magic.

As the sun rose, there was that wonderful low mist over the fields….

img_3600

As we approached London, the miss cleared and it was a gorgeous sunny day.

David had agreed to meet me at Kings Cross so I asked for the usual photo, so I didn’t go chatting up total strangers………it’s always funny how the people in real life rarely meet what’s in my mind and David was the same. I was expecting someone much older so we had a laugh at the fact that I would have thought he was his son…….

David was there waiting for me just where we agreed – big brownie point:) We headed for the ‘Poor school’, an actor’s training centre just along from Kings cross.

Rob was there who wrote the original play, along with all the actors, wardrobe person, and artistic director – think I’ve remembered everyone……..oooo and of course, David, the Director….

They then went round and introduced themselves – which part they played in the play and then asked me questions – I’d told them that no question was out of bounds but sadly stopped writing so I could concentrate on the questions, so can’t remember all they asked me but I think they covered just about everything – I remember there was some very good questions! My feelings, feelings of others, my daughters, my blog and much much more……
They were the nicest of people and I can’t wait for next years version of the play. They hope to perform in areas with least support for Young onset so I expect to see them in the East Riding or maybe even Hull – it would be wonderful if they were, since it’s Hull’s year of culture.

A quote from the web site states:

“The play takes its title from this sentiment. It is the oldest story in the world. Two people fall in love. That people keep doing this day upon day is cause for hope.”

It’s a moving personal story in itself from Rob, the author, and why he came to write the play. More details can be found here on their wonderful web site:

http://www.smalleststory.co.uk/

I couldn’t end before we had a photo and the actor who is playing the young son had a new camera with timer, which meant, for once, we were all in the picture……📸

Notice I'm proudly cuddling my Yorkshire Tea bags......

Left feeling very happy……..especially since one of the actors gave me my next weeks supply of Yorkshire tea, which I’m proudly holding in the photo……..thank you😊

The Humber looked positively wonderful bathed in the sun as the train trundled by and it also meant I was only an hour away from my comfy chair………

img_3602

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

5 thoughts on ““The Smallest Story Ever Told…”

  1. Thank you for a wonderful morning Wendy. Feel truly priveleged to have met you and learnt so much and felt so inspired by you. Love, Will (‘Evan’ the publishing agent, in the play) I’m bottom far left in the pic.xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

