Asked to speak at my favourtist place in England…….

Last Thursday I found myself on the 06.02 train – the first of the day – but it wasn’t a chore at all as I was travelling to my most favourtist place in the country – Keswick………

It’s also my most favourite train to catch bizarrely, as it’s the first of the day from Beverley so is always practically empty when it starts. So I never feel rushed, hassled or stressed from having to find a seat or somewhere to put my suitcase….At this point I was hoping to put a photo of the sunrise over the Humber bridge, forgetting that the sun hadn’t even thought of waking up yet, instead you have a lovely and rare species – an empty rail carriage….😊

image

I’d received an email from Ann Martin and Alison Hodson back in April with the subject line of:
“Walk Walla Again…..”
Walla Crag has always been a favourite walk of mine as the view of Keswick is wonderful and I use as the cover on my blog

image

Well, I thought it was probably an advertising email ….until I opened and read the content……They were asking if I’d speak at the launch of their Dementia Friendly Keswick event. Obviously I had to think for all of a nano second before accepting……..When replying I asked if they realised it was my favouritist place on earth and they replied by saying ‘yes’, because they read my blog😳Fancy people in my favouritist place reading my blog – magic!

They kindly offered to put me up for 2 nights, hence me travelling up on Thursday morning ready for the event on Friday. I was looking forward to having the afternoon to wander around in the warm sunshine……..alright, so I can get a bit carried away sometimes, and it is nearly October, but I could hope…..

Changing at Hull, I got the first train of the day to Manchester and slowly the world began to wake……and as we got closer and close to Manchester the normal sardines in a can developed on the train………

I happily played solitaire to wake up my brain until it got light and I could look at the scenery – sadly no wifi on this trans pennine service …..when will all companies provide free wifi for travellers…?

I was coming to the end of a manic week with no days off, so ‘jaded’ is a word that sprung to mind, but the thought of seeing Keswick again was keeping me going.

The weather as we approached the Lakes was indecisive – stormy one minute, bright sunshine the next and lots of lovely rainbows…
image

Ann had kindly agreed to meet me at Penrith and drive me to Keswick. This drive is one of my favourites….
More rainbows……….

image

Once I’d booked into the hotel, I had a wander, trying to dodge the heavy showers.
After a walk wobble down to the Lake, my body finally told me it had had enough for the day, so just time for another photo, then supper, then collapse for the night………

image

Tomorrow I’ll tell you about the event…….feel so lucky to ave been asked to give a talk in my favouritist place in England……..

Such a beautiful place....
Such a beautiful place….

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Asked to speak at my favourtist place in England…….

Leave a Reply

