The Fun of taking risks…..with dementia……

Me and Gemma love going to Blackpool. People don’t understand the attraction – unless they went as a child…
We went last weekend and it was the first time of going with my stick……
The place we both love to go is the pleasure beach. This was our second visit since dementia struck and on the first visit it was me saying:
‘ let’s go on this roller coaster, let’s go on that ride….’
So it came as no surprise that it was the same again this time except I had my stick with me ………….what on earth do you do with a stick when you want to go on a roller coasterly type of ride? Well………we went to the first ride; an innocent looking mouse that seats 2 people…….we knew it went fast and we knew it was bumpy……it got to our turn and the young man on the ride looked at me and hesitated before saying:
“Errrrrrrm, you’ll have to leave your stick with me…….’
“Okey doke!’ I said😊
The ride was more manic than either of us expected – innocent it looked and innocent it certainly wasn’t……..I sat behind Gemma – mainly so I’d be anchored in! But then we spun round a corner and I whacked my nose on her back😳
I envisaged, for a split second, climbing out at the end with my nose pouring blood and asking for my stick back😂………luckily it was just bruised.
I didn’t mention the throbbing pain in the middle of my face to Gemma as I thought she might ban me from further rides……..so we then went on the roller coaster, only this time the man didn’t see my stick so it came with me, securely strapped in with the seat belt around us……

image

The looks we got each time were priceless. It was when we were having a breather that I mentioned the bruise on my nose……and it wasn’t until I took off my glasses that you could see the bruise developing………we then went bowling as it seemed a safer option to Gemma.
However, we then had an hour before we had to leave so I persuaded Gemma that all was well with my nose and that the steeplechase beckoned🙄 a ride where you sit on a horse and are thrown about round a track, up, down round and round at an alarming rate………..
And just one more ride on the roller coaster before we went…….
‘You don’t have to go on if you don’t want to mum’…………..ha! So off we trotted for our last stomach churning ride on the roller coaster ………

If you look very carefully you can just about see the bruise emerging at the top of my nose....😂😂
If you look very carefully you can just about see the bruise emerging at the top of my nose….😂😂

It wasn’t until the following morning, when I couldn’t help wondering why the sides of my knees and legs hurt………until I looked and saw all the bruises from having been thrown about from side to side on all the rides……they say that if you have lots of ‘padding’ on your body, that you’re better protected…..now I understand why…….😂😂

As Gemma said, once we were safely put of reach of any more rides . it’s a good example of not getting rid of all the risks when you have dementia and other people not ‘letting’ you take risks….
Life doesn’t have to be dull and risk free just because you have dementia…..

A picture of 'The Big One' from below - sadly it was closed due to the high winds that day........🙄
A picture of ‘The Big One’ from below – sadly it was closed due to the high winds that day……..🙄
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

10 thoughts on “The Fun of taking risks…..with dementia……

  1. Hi Wendy. Sorry I didn’t reply to your last comment about my Dad. (He is John, 72 years old with Alzheimer’s and a former airline Captain) I was so grateful for your wishes and enjoy reading about your experiences. I love this post about your time in Blackpool. Sounds like you had an amazing time with your daughter Gemma, And I agree that just because you have Dementia it shouldn’t restrict you having fun as there is no fun with Dementia. Myself, my Mum and my brother know only too well it’s all about experiences for my Dad.

    Can I share..the one thing I get frustrated with is that my Dad struggles with so many basic things. I keep reminding myself that it is not his fought, but it doesn’t make it any easier. I know it is harder for him.

    I can’t recall when you sent your last post about communication but a lot of what you said resonated with me as my Dad never speaks about what it is like for him, but then he has always been that way. His memory is becoming progressively worse and has no short memory.

    In a positive light..it has focused what is important in life, and that is just having fun.

    I don’t have any experience and not sure about yourself, but I think it would be great to set up some kind of group to tackle Dementia from sufferers and friends of sufferer’s as from what i have found there is very little support, be it financial or emotional. Not sure what you think?

    Best wishes,

    Martin

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Basic things are often the worst Martin as it also makes you feel so stupid. Shame you’re dad won’t talk as he probably has so much he’d like to share if he could. Peer support groups are vital for both people living with dementia and their supporters. What county do you live in?
      Wendyx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Wendy.

        Thank you for your reply Wendy. Living in South East England near Windsor, Berkshire.

        I appreciate your insight and thoughts. I didn’t know that there are peer support groups.

        Martin x

        Like

      2. Here’s a link to the Alzheimers society ‘connect’ page that will list if there’s anything in your area if you enter your post code Martin.
        It’s a bit of a post code lottery – my area doesn’t have anything and I have to travel to York to access.
        Wendy

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

