Another difficulty comes to light……..

Who would have thought renewing home insurance would be such a challenge……….

Courtesy of our dear friend Google.....
Courtesy of our dear friend Google…..

People who know me, know I hate using the telephone now. Last year I was fine. I renewed my home insurance when I moved , no problem. Imagine my horror when the realisation came at having to do it all over again this year……..My renewal arrived and I did my usual thing of checking for quotes on line and found it was much cheaper than the price they’d quoted me. I could have just gone with the original extortionate quote and not had to do a thing, but why should I?

I knew it would be difficult for my daughters to ring for me as they ask you soooooo many questions that they wouldn’t necessarily know the answers. So I plucked up courage to ring myself – simply saying that the quote they gave was far higher than others..

We went through the confusing array of questions – luckily, and I’m sure by pure chance, I had a lovely smiley woman on the other end of the phone. However, again, this is a service that relies on memory……🙄……and they have callers queuing up on their call board waiting to be answered……so speed through the questions…………

As always, the quote was significantly reduced when I said what others had quoted me……so why oh why can’t they offer the proper price at renewal and make things so much simpler. I’m told many people simply take the renewal offer and don’t search on line, which is probably why. But I’ve always searched for a better quote – it’s just that now that’s becoming a bit of a nightmare…….I’m never sure why they ask all the questions online and then insist on asking them all again on the phone….it’s difficult for most people.

So really, I havn’t a clue whether I’m insured properly due to the speed of rapid fire questions and having to rely on my memory for the answers – obviously I’ll read the policy when it arrives, but then even that relies on me remembering what I’ve read when I’ve turned a page – next year we may have to think up an alternative way………

Wonder how many other people living alone with dementia simply renew as that’s the easier option and maybe some don’t even remember to renew…………..or don’t have house insurance……..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

8 thoughts on “Another difficulty comes to light……..

  1. I always go on-line and get a quote for anything I need if they won’t quote on-line then I go to their website to see if they will quote there. As a last resort I will phone the original supplier and try and get a lower quote, so far it has always worked even if they match the lowest quote you had all it means is they see that person as gullible. Normally when you accept the lower price from a place by phoning your broker it is the same insurer that provides the insurance that gave the original higher quote.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s a known thing for insurers to do this for any type of insurance and there are people out there who simply let it auto-renew every year without realising they could save lots of cash by simply shopping around.

    I also find using the phone can be difficult nowadays, not just because of my failing memory but also because of my stammer but I need to do it every day as my job involves answering phone calls. I’m sure there will come a day when I jsut can’t do it anymore but for now I’ll keep on fighting to keep things as normal as possible.

    Hugs to you and keep on fighting x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘Hi Wendy

    Your blog about insurance quotes prompts me to share a thought with you. Bear with me for my wonderful plan . I wanted to book a table at a restaurant but was hesitant to make the call. I so often start stammering which then makes feel like a small child. I nearly bottled out, but thought I MUST do this. do this. I analised my problem and thought that if there were another reason for me to need to do this, I’d be fine. So,what about pretending I have another health condition that needs help. So to snappy waiter/snotty waitress, explain that I am rather deaf and could they speak a little louder, please. No need to give her more info. Devise your own reason as needed .As long the goal is reached! So if my wonderful plan works for you, will be able to juggle policies insurance policies with the best of them. This has taken about an hour to type to , so I hope it’s OK.
    A

    Liked by 1 person

  4. On a sort of related theme, I have got banking problems (0r rather baking problems as I typed first.. )I have two accounts and was encouraged to have another two for reasons. Fine until two new cards arrive, Suddenly I have 3 accounts, one sort f linked to one, and a new one. Then the post turns up and suddenly I have 3 new cards. and 3 new pins, One no contact, which sounds dodgy to me. I opened all the envelopes and then wished I han’t because I have 3 and I don’t which is which. I will now go into panic mode and wish I had left well alone!.Lucky husband will have the joy of unscrambling things.when back .Until then I will panic and stare at each card in turn in the hope that they will sort themselves out, while I hit the gin…Lucky Steve gets to sort things out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

