Anniversary interview at Radio York………

Yesterday saw me travelling to York to meet the lovely Jonathan Cowap at BBC Radio York. Jonathan has interviewed me a few times before and yesterday was exactly a year to the day since we first spoke – I’m sure that’s what Jonathan said………😊 The last time was 6 months ago.

The day started off very eventful …..one certain cat, by the name of Billy Mitchell Watts had decided it would be great fun to bring, what we thought was a mouse, into Gemma’s kitchen to play with……..Gemma was not amused and was on FaceTime asking me  to go to her rescue and spoil Billys fun……..I’d only just had a shower and hadn’t even had my first cuppa of the day 😳
So off I trotted through the village to be met by Billy wanting to help me track down said plaything…….I opened the kitchen door to find it was in fact a bird…….Billy went berserk chasing it round but Gemma managed to grab him (Billy not the bird!) and left me to help said bird fly to freedom once more. Only took a min as it was quite relieved to see Billy out of the equation and someone on 2 legs rather than 4 …..Billy was allowed back into the kitchen while we cleaned the surfaces and thought we must have hidden it for a game of hide and seek……when he realised this wasn’t the case he went sulking off outside to find his next playmate……..

Anyway, back to my trip to York……It had turned out well for me as I was interviewing with Matt Murray from the Alzheimers society on Tuesday in York and as it was an early start they were putting me up in a hotel for the night,  so I was able to make the most of both days……….

I arrived at Radio York to be met by the lovely Jonathan Cowap..

image

I love being interviewed by Jonathan as he is so easy to talk to and seems genuinely interested in my ramblings.
We chatted about how I’d progressed and even Jonathan had noticed a change. It was a bit of a foggy day ‘head wise’ anyway for some reason.
I told him how I’d forgotten how busy York was. I’d got a bus across town and it took forever simply due to the volume of traffic, and it was so noisy. Once I got back into town I went by the river just to get the noise out of my head.
He asked me about my new house and I explained about the photos I have on all the cupboards to remind me where things are and how the best thing I did when I moved in was removing the kitchen doors so I could clearly see where each opening led to….
We also spoke of the farce of the PIP decline which happened recently……….and lots lots more which escapes me as I didn’t type ……
Before I knew it, we’d been talking for over half an hour and my time was up…….he took a photo of me in the studio for social media but I can’t believe I didn’t do a selfie of the 2 of us!!

The recording is due to be broadcast on Wednesday 24th on Jonathan’s programme at 10am on BBC Radio York…

image

I’m sure me and Jonathan will talk again soon and it will be so nice to see him yet again…..makes you realise that nice, genuine people do exist……

Couldn't not have Jonthan in the blog so this is the one from our last meeting ......
Couldn’t not have Jonthan in the blog so this is the one from our last meeting ……
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Anniversary interview at Radio York………

  1. So “brave” Wendy! I’m talking about the games with the bird! I am seriously ornithophobic and cannot deal with birds, dead alive, with or without feathers… Feathers on their own can send me into a tizzy and I have even been known to tear pages out of newspapers and magazines, or staple pages together in cookery books if they have pictures of birds on them where their eyes are too “beady” or they look too “feathery”!

    This aside, I was appalled at your PIP experience. Recent reports I have heard and/or read have led me to dare to be more optimistic on PIP and the changeover.

    I had a life-time award for DLA (mid care and higher mobility) not long after I was diagnosed with MS 10 years ago. I am having a major move next month to the south coast (a sort of retirement, although I have not worked since early 2011) and to be close to friends and nearer to my daughter in London (as I have absolutely no regular support or back-up where I live now in Selby) and cannot help wondering if this will bring forward my PIP transfer assessment.

    Like you, I try to be involved with things and, when I get the chance, I consider myself to be something of a disabled activist and one of the reasons for my choice of destination (Southampton) is the wider choice of adapted sport options. The move will have taken the better part of three years, including the property search, purchase and having it adapted so I can get around easily in my wheelchair. At the moment, I can only use my wheelchair outdoors as there isn’t enough space in my current home and there are steep stairs.

    So, after your experience, I am now wondering if I will get PIP at all, on the grounds that with all the activities I do, a fully accessible, disabled friendly bungalow and a wheelchair I am independent enough already!

    Although I was some way off being a millionaire, the legacy I received from my parents was, by most people’s standards, a life changing amount. I cannot argue with that but there will be precious little left at the end so I will just go from being skint in Selby to skint in Southampton – and more so without PIP.

    Best of luck with your appeal or whatever it is you start with (I forget!). I hope you don’t have to go through the stress of an appeal.

    I shall continue following your progress in when I am in Southampton.

    With best wishes,

    Helen Weber

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

