Article in local press re PIP decline……..

Kate Liptrot, a journalist with the York Press, wrote an article about me in July 2015 when I was living in York. I remember being pleased at the language she used and the positive slant she gave, so I was only too pleased to hear from her again via Twitter following all the chaos of the PIP denial last week.

Kate asked if she could write an article about the PIP decline, using comments from my blog, and I was only too happy for her to do this. I knew her article would be fair and honest and I wasn’t disappointed. Kate wanted a comment from the Works and Pension department but they would only give it if they had my National Insurance number and address🙄 When Kate asked if I was prepared to give them it, I declined as goodness knows whether they would then use that information against me…..

http://www.yorkpress.co.uk/news/14681746.I_can_t_prepare_a_meal_or_walk_and_talk_normally__But_the_Government_has_just_cut_my_benefits/

I was in a very different place back when she wrote the original article, which now only serves to stress the changes that have taken place. Back then, I was living in ,what I thought was my forever home and was very settled and happy there. I was actually quite shocked to find it was only a year ago – I thought it was 2. ! It’s even bizarrely nice having that as a reference point to look back on though.. When I searched for the original article,  I had in my mind that it was much longer ago, so this puts into perspective the difference a year makes. Back then, I was still making my own meals, I didn’t have a stick and was happily booking my own travel…and I was receiving Personal Independence Payments. Now I can no longer do those things, yet payments have now stopped – very sad…

You can read the original blog with the link for the first article here:

https://whichmeamitoday.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/using-local-press-to-reach-people/?preview_id=1808&preview_nonce=711caf0168&post_format=standard&preview=true

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “Article in local press re PIP decline……..

  1. I’m very glad your PIP case is getting some publicity. Very much hope it helps your cause, and also others in your situation. Virtual hugs from Liverpool. Keep on Truckin’! 😉 I’m sure you’ll get there in the end.

    Do please let me know if you think I can help in any way. As ME/CFS person I can be a bit thick sometimes (especially when over-tired). but I really get angry when DWP is so cruel to people who have an ongoing or progressive disease. I think their “Decision Makers” just don’t understand the word “progressive”. Good luck to you in your Reconsideration, and hopes that the person re-considering has some common sense!

    Like

  2. You have been my hero since I first found you. I am sure thousands also think so. What a wonderful gift you are giving.

    My mother passed from dementia 2 months ago. She knew it was coming as the signs were to obvious and she lived in fear of losing her mind. I cry for her, I could not be there. She deserved so much more than she received. I miss our nightly phone calls.

    You help me feel I can understand her last years a bit better and feel closer to her through your posts.. She was not one for sharing personal feelings. Thank you for what you are doing. You were meant for this.

    Your work and efforts will help many for years to come.

    Wendy Dalton
    Canada

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

