My Visit from the ‘Woman And Home’ Team…..

The one good thing about dementia is that nice things come your way sometimes to block out the rubbish that happened in the previous days……After the ups and downs of last week, last Thursday was one such day and saw a visit by the Woman & Home magazine team. They’d asked if they could make a video of me.
They’re working with the Alzheimer’s Society to raise awareness through their magazine and earlier in the year I’d been down to their offices in London to talk to their staff and make them all Dementia Friends and they’d liked the talk so much that they wanted it recorded along with me being in my own home and village.

They’d sent me a schedule for the day and, at my request, photos of those coming to my house so they would look familiar when they arrived. Originally they were going to send someone to do my hair and make up………now for those who know me well, you can stop laughing now…….I did suggest they might like to reconsider sending that person all the way up north for the day as they’d have very little to do as I never wear make up and my hair is as it is when I come out of the shower😂😂 – thankfully they cancelled the hair and make up lady, but it was a nice thought. If my daughters had been involved they would have been over the moon!

So bang on time the taxi, that looked more like a mini bus, arrived and out came, Sharon(Picture editor), Elly and Asami (Camera people) along with all their paraphernalia!

image

Di from the York office of the Alzheimers society had also come along to make sure I was ok. They brought me a lovely bunch of flowers along with lunch for everyone………

image

Obviously I made them a cuppa tea before we could start anything…..but then the rearrangement of my home took place. They kindly took a photo to make sure everything would go back into its proper place at the end.
First they recorded me reading the script

Then Elly and Asami went off filming bits in my memory room before filming me at all angles 😳. They then filmed me reading all about Great British Bake off as they knew it was my favourite programme and I’d included it in my script

Being filmed in the kitchen....:)
Being filmed in the kitchen….:)

We then decided it was time for lunch……and a cuppa tea…….

Elly and Asami were Japanese and taught me some bits of Japanese, ready for our Japanese visitors to my support group in York, Minds and Voices. We’ve got a film crew along with Tomo, who has been diagnosed, coming to spend some time with us. Very excited about that..So I wrote down phonetically how to say, hello, welcome and goodbye – I think………….

After lunch, we filmed me in the memory room, in the garden pottering and then they surprised me by asking if we could walk down the village 😱………I ambled down to the duck pond, being filmed all along the way……thank goodness it wasn’t 10am when everyone would have been waiting for the bus🙄
The ducks obliged and came to be nosy, but sadly they were out of luck, as the duck food was on the side in the kitchen……forgot to take it with me………

After a while they filmed me in reverse walking home and then in my front garden……They then started to return my house back to normal, checking their photo as they did to make sure everything was in the right place.

I think we were all exhausted by the end
Di, Elly, Asami and Sharon having a ‘collapse’ moment at the end😊

In no time at all 4pm arrived and their taxi arrived.
Once they’d left, it was as if they’d never been. It was lovely having them with me for the day as they were such lovely friendly people.
I hadn’t realised how exhausted I was until they left. I’’d had such a good time but then just sat …..and sat……and had a snooze……….😴

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “My Visit from the ‘Woman And Home’ Team…..

  1. I’m smiling gently at you forgetting the duck food. I was like that when my girls were small, it was generally so frazzling getting them both into coats etc I was always forgetting stuff! Fortunately it got easier when they got a bit bigger. Of course back then we didn’t know about bread not being good for ducks, so it was a brown paper bag of leftover bread and crusts the ducks got fed.

    Also wanted to let you know that I’m sending “The Vibes” and my good wishes to you and your daughters over your benefit difficulties, and hoping that you get a sensible response to your Mandatory Reconsideration for PIP. I’m off for my DLA to PIP Assessment tomorrow morning at the unearthly hour of 9am. I imagine that I won’t “pass”, but will come out fighting! 😉 Cyber hugs from Wales, setting off for Liverpool in the next hour or so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

