2 years on……..

Yesterday saw the 2 year anniversary of my receiving a diagnosis of dementia. So this week I thought I look back and reblog some of my earlier ramblings……….so I thought I’d start off with one from my first week of writing back in October 2014 about a memory room I’d created. It’s very appropriate as this week I finished creating a memory room in my new home…….

Memories are made of this…….

It’s not really surprising that a diagnosis of dementia focuses the mind on the important things in life. Life takes on a type of urgency that wasn’t there before as no one can tell you how long you have left of your normal self. There you are one minute, strolling quite happily through life doing things as and when you feel like it, planning years ahead to a time when you can relax and retire and have time to fill as you like. Then the next minute there’s this crushing uncertainty which creates panic in the mind as you now know you’re not going to hold onto memories for ever. Deciding what my priorities are is a momentous task – what you once took for granted may now never take place. Your ‘priority list’ looks very different now than it may have done pre-diagnosis.

So I asked myself, ‘what don’t I want to forget’ and went about creating a room with pictures of all my favourite places – my favourite ‘views’ from life. I haven’t travelled much but I have so many places and views that I want to be able to remember. One picture is even made up of photos of all the houses I’ve lived in. Then,obviously, there are the faces of family and friends. It seems impossible yet inevitable that these will all become unfamiliar as time goes on but maybe, just maybe, they’ll provide a spark of recognition and pleasant memories. Maybe to some people this will all sound very morbid but I don’t really look upon this as thinking of the future – what I’m trying to do is set things in place now so they’re there to help me when needed.

A corner of my new memory room.....
A corner of my new memory room…..

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

4 thoughts on “2 years on……..

  1. You are an amazing lady! One of my biggest fears is developing dementia, as I witnessed my mum’s experience at close hand – not easy to do. You have managed to alleviate a great deal of that fear. Still don’t want it, of course, but I realise, as you have proved, that there is life, a good life, after diagnosis. Thank you. x

    Like

  2. Have just come upon your blog, having been diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s aged 63 in January 2015. It’s so good to hear things from another perspective by someone with the same disease. I live in a small village in France with my husband, having moved here 10 yrs ago. I love the peace and tranquility, but I should probably be having rather more stimulation and interaction; but then no one gets everything they want in life do they. . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

