A wonderful weekend away in Keswick…..

I’ve just spent a wonderful couple of days in my most favourite place in the Lake District – Keswick.
They had a dreadful time over the winter and were flooded beyond belief. However, time has elapsed and they’ve done a remarkable job and to us from the outside, it looks like nothing ever happened, although I’m sure the scars are still very raw for the residents. The only tell tale signs are the newly painted buildings and new bits here and there around the town.
The place looks as remarkable as ever. Here’s my favourite photos of the last few days, taken on my phone as  I forgot my camera🙄…..the sun didn’t shine, but that didn’t matter….

The lovely Derwentwater LAke with Cats Bell in the background...
The lovely Derwentwater LAke with Cats Bell in the background…

image

Discovered (by accident) that I could take panorama shots.....😳
Discovered (by accident) that I could take panorama shots…..😳
Amazing stones on the lakeside at Friars Cragg
Amazing stones on the lakeside at Friars Cragg

 

So once I discovered a new way of taking photos there was no stopping me....ha!
So once I discovered a new way of taking photos there was no stopping me….ha!
Our main aim was to climb Walla Crag, which has my favourite view of all - use to take me 2-3hrs - now takes 5.....😥 Wobbled all the way up and all the way down - but we did it - me and my lovely daughter Sarah....
Our main aim was to climb Walla Crag, which has my favourite view of all – use to take me 2-3hrs – now takes 5…..😥 Wobbled all the way up and all the way down – but we did it – me and my lovely daughter Sarah….
And finally my favourite photo which will hopefully become my blog picture instead of the seagull for a while - if only I can remember how to replace it....
And finally my favourite photo which will hopefully become my blog picture instead of the seagull for a while – if only I can remember how to replace it….

Lots of nice memories……

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “A wonderful weekend away in Keswick…..

Leave a Reply

