Appearances can be deceptive……

Many people have looked at the content of my blog and questioned how I can possibly have dementia, They see the normality of my writing and wonder how someone with dementia can possibly write so fluently…….

If you think of the saying “ignorance is bliss’ – ignorance in this circumstance simply highlights our invisible disability. It highlights the lack of knowledge over the complexity of our brain disease. I’m thankful that part of my brain isn’t broken. I can type words far quicker than I can think words. So why wouldn’t I use the skills I still have rather than the ones I’m losing? Many people I know have lost the ability to read and write, which is very sad so I realise I’m the fortunate one.
It’s sad when people question whether you have dementia simply by the things you continue to do rather than seeing the daily struggles which are often hidden from others.

I’ve also joined the wonder world of Twitter since being diagnosed, yet again this news was met with stunned silence and disbelief recently – heaven forbid that people with dementia try something new and techy when diagnosed……

It’s vital to consider the whole person and not to focus on singular actions or appearances which may mislead. It’s certainly not a good move to simply focus on the dementia.
I recently had an email conversation with the wonderful Peter Mittler, Emeritus Professor of Special Needs Education at the University of Manchester – he also has a diagnosis of dementia…..Peter is doing an incredible job of championing the rights of people with dementia in international circles.
Dementia has no regard for people’s intelligence wealth, ethnicity or any previous abilities. What we can do is use our current ability to educate and highlight the complexity of dementia to others.

This can be seen perfectly in the work of Dementia Alliance International – there are about 2000 of us across the world, and quite a few in England. All people with dementia……
“ It is a non profit group of people with dementia from all around the world that seek to represent, support, and educate others living with the disease, and an organization that will provide a unified voice of strength, advocacy and support in the fight for individual autonomy and improved quality of life”

More can be found on the web site and people with dementia can sign up and be involved as much or as little as you’re able.

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Appearances can be deceptive……

  1. Well said Wendy, we are all right behind you , keep going with the things you CAN do, there are so many listening to you don’t listen to the negative ! Veronica and Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

