Update meeting for Beverley Community Hospital

I’ve been involved with Beverley Community hospital since I moved to this area. The aim is to make improvements to enable it to be more friendly for people with dementia and therefore more people friendly in general. Janet Woodhouse, Nurse Consultant kindly picked me up in the village and we trundled off to the hospital. We were joined there by Alex, the architect, Claire, the sister from the ward, Ron Atkinson from Estates.

While we were waiting for the others to arrive, me and Janet talked about staffing issues in the region – my previous life was in rostering, so I had lots of ideas to share.

Today was a catch up about the consultation and engagement meeting. Alex had received costings for some changes that we recommended. So we needed to decide priorities and how we can move forward.

Internal charitable fund committee are interested in the project, which sounds promising and internal fund raising could also contribute. Smile foundation are another possible funding source who we need to organise a meeting with as they adopt local projects and contribute to funding.
Signage, lighting and creating a homely atmosphere rooms was seen as a high priority during the consultation.However, there is some reluctance a minority of staff on working away from a clinical atmosphere as patients may not want to go home, but as Claire, the sister said, that is all about communication to patients about their proposed discharge plan. My thoughts are that patients feel safer when surrounded by the familiar, hopefully leading to a speedier recovery as they’ll be more relaxed.
Improvement of garden was also a high request as did the ability to make a drink when you fancied it – I’m obviously 200% behind that as I couldn’t imagine anything worse than having to wait for a cuppa tea………😊
Contrasting paintwork and coloured door frames also had lots of vote

A local Hull photographic company, Ivor Innes, has donated artwork for the ward, which has gone down very well. Pictures from Beverley to Hull has led to lots of reminiscence and conversation. The pictures are in the corridors and have seats placed opposite. Patients and relatives have been found sitting in front of the pictures and reminiscing – wonderful.

The town centre as it used to be in Hull
The town centre as it used to be in Hull
He's sleeping Road in Hull 1952
He’s sleeping Road in Hull 1952
Details of the company that kindly gifted all these wonderful prints.
Details of the company that kindly gifted all these wonderful prints.

Ideas were banded around menus – pictures of food instead of a list. I suggested somewhere recently I saw digitally produced daily menus that appeared in picture form on the TV screen but can’t for the life of me remember where I heard about them……🙄

Strongly favoured was sign on the ensuite doors – I can relate to that – I even have a ‘T’ on my own doors otherwise they look the same as everywhere else.
Hull Royal are making changes on their 8th Floor – it would make sense to work together as some of their patients get discharged here so consistency would make sense. However Hull Royal don’t seem conducive to working with others and prefer to do things internally – grrrrrrr- Hull Royal have a lot to do to earn any brownie points from me.
Alex and Rob now need to get together to now decide the technicalities of finance.

We’re planning another engagement session in October to show the public what we want to achieve from the views they gave and how they can stay involved – perfect, as there’s nothing worse than being asked your opinion and then not knowing the outcome…..

This area is trying to do lots to encourage staff training and awareness of dementia. All staff have to attend dementia friends, there’s an e-learning session, butterfly scheme learning session, face to face sessions that staff are encouraged to attend at Dove House. ‘Understanding dementia and responding positively’ as well as a. 6 part study course accredited by Sterling available for Trust staff. Hull Uni are also doing a new module on the training pathway. I hope some of these include people with dementia as part of the course……..

So lots of encouraging news and good to see people working so hard to make things better in some areas……now there just needs to be a focus on young onset needs, but I’m working on that……..

Fab photos from when the Beatles visited Hull in 1964 - I wonder who the children are.....?
Fab photos from when the Beatles visited Hull in 1964 – I wonder who the children are…..?
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “Update meeting for Beverley Community Hospital

Leave a Reply

