Travelling is getting more of a challenge…….

When I travelled down to London last week I must have got seat numbers muddles. I was sat opposite a seat ticket that said ‘Beverley to London’ and I remember that it troubled me at the time why it said that when I was sat in my seat but couldn’t put 2 and 2 together and think it was mine.
When a crowd of people got on at the next station, it just seemed chaotic. Usually when challenged I would have simply looked at the seat numbers again and laughed and moved to my real seat. All I felt was confusion and being over awed by the situation. There were too many people and too much to work out. I went and sat on the corridor pull down seat by the door away from the crowds but it meant I just sat there for the 3 hour journey instead of being on my iPad. It highlights the difference one day can be from another.

I’ve also now developed a new issue of finding it difficult to book my own tickets when it involves changes. My brain just gets fuddled trying to work out connections and allowing enough time to sit and watch the world go by in between changes. This has crept up upon me as a couple of months ago I had no problem booking my own tickets.

The first time it reared it’s ugly head was when trying to book tickets to Bristol. I’ve gone in this direction every year as I have friends there, but I just couldn’t work out how this time. In the end I had to go via London as it was the only way I could do it – crazy….

I’ve decided to treat myself to a few days on the Isle of Wight in the summer – a favourite with me and my daughters when they were younger – but I would look at the trains and then close my iPad quickly due to the complexity of it all. It use to be me who helped others ….. In the end I had to get Gemma to help me and we did it in sections. I wrote each section down and then was able to book it without a problem……..

'You mean I only have to say where I'm going and you give me a ticket?'
‘You mean I only have to say where I’m going and you give me a ticket?’ If only it was this simple!

Another thing that’s stressful is having a suitcase…..sounds simple, doesn’t it? Put your suitcase on the rack or in the space provided as most people quite happily do every day. For me, I prefer to have my suitcase next to me – why you may ask? Well if I don’t, I’ll walk off without it because if it’s not with me it doesn’t exist. I have to set alarms, reminders and have a note on my knee saying SUITCASE to help me remember to pick it up. It’s much easier and less stressful, on the trains that have more room, to have the case next to me.

People often put me up in a hotel for the night if I’ve got an early start or a late finish and the 2 thing that often fool me in hotels are the shower and the TV. I often spend the evening working out how to switch on the TV as there’s often no instructions. As for the shower, I’ve often given up and had a bath as I can’t work that out at all……simple instructions by these would make it so much simpler….

Before, none of these things would have been a problem for me but now they’re just another hassle to overcome.

You’d think with all the travelling I do it would be easy, but sadly it’s getting harder. I use to enjoy travelling and still do like simply looking out of the window at the world going by but it’s so much more stressful than it use to be. I’m determined not to give up just yet and have even more written down than I use to, but I know I’ll end up travelling less. To travel and not to enjoy is no fun at all……..

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

3 thoughts on “Travelling is getting more of a challenge…….

  1. These sudden changes are worrying and confusing, I had no idea things happened that way until it happened to me. My thought s are with you,
    Judith Atkinson

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

