A weekend away…

I went away for a few days last weekend – a sudden decision when I saw the weather was going to be kind…… I went back to my childhood seaside town of Blackpool. A destination totally alien to many but to those of us who went as children it still retains it’s magic. These days I spend my time walking on deserted beaches – magic.

imageimage

I’m typing this on my journey home to while away the hours on a stop start stop start journey. A train chocca block with people all having had a varied experience of this once popular destination.

The journey there was a much noisier affair as excited children tried to be the first to spot the Tower on the way in (a past time I still love to this day) and groups of hen parties relished the days and nights ahead of them. The journey back was filled with hangovers and regrets and ‘never agains’ but children were still full of the stories of the giant jelly fish they’d found on the beach and the massive ride at the fair which had made them. A grandad of one family sat next to me for their short ride. To Preston full of resign meant for the journey ahead as they were going north of Newcastle and their trains had been cancelled so we’re having to catch 2 coaches from Preston BUT it had been worth it to see the ‘bairn’ have a nice time on the beach with the donkeys…..

The number of times I heard people say, as I watched the world go by…”I remember when….’. Blackpool is a place full of nostalgia of an era when factory shutdowns used to fill the resort. Although Blackpool is finally waking up to it’s heritage, in the shape of the old fashioned tram rides at weekends
image
and it’s revamp of the prom

Taken from the pier..
Taken from the pier..

it could do so much more to tap into the nostalgic need to look back. A mammoth task, but from hearing people talk from all walks of life up and down the prom, there is certainly a market out there………

And the beach is the perfect place to be as the sun is setting on the horizon....
And the beach is the perfect place to be as the sun is setting on the horizon….

As we travelled further across the Pennines, the train became quieter as children and adults fell asleep to dream of who knows what………….If only trains could talk they would tell such varied tales of joy, sadness, trauma and hilarity as lives cross for fleeting moments of time……

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “A weekend away…

  1. Dear Wendy

    My mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s in 2013. She was on medication which stabilised her condition, she was slightly confused and forgetful but knew who her family members were, was still able to do crosswords and read papers and books. My father died July 2015, Mum and dad had been living in a care home together so it was a concern as to how she would cope. She managed very well, she had a hearty appetite, was able to walk unaided, and found a role looking after the other ladies in the home, showing them the way to the loo as they would forget.

    We took her out often, and she visited my home with her sister several times and we skyped sister Mary in Australia and looked at family photos.

    On Saturday 19th March 2016 Mum had a fall and broke her hip. She had an operation but within days it was infected and she died in hospital 7 weeks later. My sister and I visited her every day so have first hand experience of how she was looked after.

    There were many issues which I feel were overlooked regarding someone with Dementia, the hospitals are trying but there seems to be huge gaps with the way people are cared for.

    I do not wish to go into details at this stage as there is to be an inquest which is some months away. I read your blogs and admire greatly what you are doing so very well done to keep this going. We know the hospitals do not have time for the elderly, but those with dementia have even more special needs. I appreciate you have been meeting nurses to get these messages across. This is brilliant.

    Very best wishes

    Yvonne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for sharing your story Yvonne and for your kind comments. We still have a long way to go, but the need for change is finally being acknowledged in some areas.
      Best wishes
      Wendyx

      Like

Leave a Reply

