Visit to the physio

Yesterday was, what turned out to be, my last visit to the physio based at the local community hospital.
It’s the same hospital where I been working with them to create a more dementia friendly, or as I like it to be known, people friendly, environment.

I’d been having trouble with pain in my foot when walking. Walking is now my only mode of independent transport since I can’t drive any more and wouldn’t feel confident riding my bike. I’d lost the ability to ‘turn right’. My brain couldn’t cope with the complexity of turning right quickly enough, making it lethal for me to be on the roads😁. In my old house, there was a circular route to the shops on a cycle path which meant I only had to turn left, which was handy but it doesn’t exist in my new village. So being able to walk comfortably is now a major requirement!

Anyway, they’d been treating me for this. I can’t for the life of me remember what the problem was but I’d been religiously doing the exercises and yesterday we finally agreed that we’d cracked the problem. The physio had originally told me that I had to rest and not walk as much😳 – very difficult when you walk everywhere, but I reduced the amount. It wasn’t until Sunday, when I went for a long walk, that I suddenly got the pain again, but it promptly disappeared when I got home and put my feet up – result..

It ‘s very convenient having a community hospital as it’s small and local. It saves having to go to my least favourite hospital of the moment which is Hull Royal. However, there’s still lots to do to make it people friendly. There’s still far too many notices up which is very confusing. Just in the physio area, there are notices all over the wall yet an empty notice board, which has been there for months……

image

One thing it was lovely to see was all the posters – about research opportunities along the corridor near the entrance….

imageimage

The only comment I’d make here was to have a heading of ‘Involvement Opportunities’ with the opportunities beneath. That way more people might read them and sign up………

image

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

