Two Major Charities joining forces with the Medical Research Council..

Sunday saw the announcement of 2 major charities working together instead of running alongside each other in parallel…..

The Alzheimer’s society and Alzheimer’s Research UK have joined forces in their fight to find the best ways to prevent, care and cure dementia.  DR Doug Brown emailed:

“Alzheimer’s Society is making history as a founding partner in the nation’s first dedicated Dementia Research Institute. Today, the Society is committing a £50 million investment into the Institute in a new partnership with the Medical Research Council and Alzheimer’s Research UK.”

The best thing for me is that it isn’t just concentrating on clinical research as it will also enable:

“………research to improve care and public health strategies to reduce risk of dementia for future generations.”

Join Dementia Research is highlighting some great studies that you could be part of at the mo. Remember, anyone can sign up to be part of research projects – healthy as well as the much needed people with dementia…

http://news.joindementiaresearch.nihr.ac.uk/

Let’s hope the new Dementia Research Institute has many more for me to take part in……😊 I’ve got my first interview for the PRIDE study on Friday – more detail on that next week….

As a Research Network volunteer with the Alzheimers society,as well as someone with dementia, I hope to have a significant input into the Dementia Research Institute. I’m looking forward to seeing how it develops and to hearing all about the resting place.

For more information see the press release on the society web site

https://www.alzheimers.org.uk/site/scripts/news_article.php?newsID=2598

For fairness, I did try to include Alzheimers Research UK’s article as well but it wouldn’t allow me to paste it into my blog😳

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

