Chilling with Billy

This week was thankfully a ‘quiet’ week for travelling. Sometimes it’s nice for the brain just to switch off and enjoy your surroundings. Tuesday was one such day. I hadn’t slept well again (sleep blog to follow soon)…..but I got up to a sunshiny forecast. My brain was in ‘foggy’ mode so I decided it was time for a bit of ‘Billy’ time………..over to the maestro……….

Billy……..your public awaits………….

What? You’re voluntarily handing over your iPad without a struggle!!

I need a moment for my eyes to catch up and wake up…….
I need a moment for my eyes to catch up and wake up…….

I heard the front door open and Wendy call my name.  I raced down the stairs I delayed racing down the stairs as it wouldn’t do to show too much enthusiasm……
I knew we were in for a good day when I saw Wendy open the back door and head for the shed. Here was my chance to rummage around   help……

I headed for the shed and sat in my favourite box for a while and helped get everything out.

Oooooo, what's in here.....?
Oooooo, what’s in here…..?

I then supervised while Wendy did all the work..

This bit first Wendy - too much green stuff for the birds to hide in.....
This bit first Wendy – too much green stuff for the birds to hide in…..
I think we I need to get up into this tree.....
I think we I need to get up into this tree…..
Come to think of it......here's a better supervising post lookout post - well it's very windy outside and I hate wind.....
Come to think of it……here’s a better supervising post lookout post – well it’s very windy outside and I hate wind…..
Although, this is much comfier........and I can still check Wendy's working ok.......
Although, this is much comfier……..and I can still check Wendy’s working ok…….
If you need a paw Wendy, just shout and I'll think carefully before changing positions come running
If you need a paw Wendy, just shout and I’ll think carefully before considering my options come running

Back to Wendy now as I’m feeling worn out…..

Pets such as Billy are such wonderful company – they don’t judge, they simply bring contentment……….just what I needed………

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

