Legacy event at Normandy Hall

Yesterday I was near Scunthorpe at Normanby Hall for a Legacy event.

Aimee Maguet, Legacy and Recognition Giving Officer, had emailed me a while ago asking if I’d talk about my story and being part of the Research Network at the Alzheimers society.
I noticed that the lovely Trevor Jarvis was also speaking so would be there with his wife. I hadn’t seen Trevor and Anne for a while so was looking forward to a catch up. Trevor was diagnosed years ago and it’s always so nice to see how he’s doing.

Aimee kindly aged to pick me up in the village and we drove over the Humber Bridge looking as wonderful as ever in the sunshine. Even the murky waters looked a picture on this sunny day.

image

Normandy Hall is a lovely place – a council run place that seems to have everything for visitors. The grounds looked lovely and were full of spring flowers and wild life at this early time in the morning before all the visitors started to arrive.

image

Inside was very grand and the room looked spectacular

image

I busied myself taking photos while Aimee got her stuff sorted.The grounds outside looked so nice in the early morning sun but it was very cold……..

It’s always nice to see these sorts of places before the crowds arrive…

image

 

image

It was such a nice bunch of speakers.

image

Each had their own special moment. It was so nice to see Trevor and Anne again. The lunch was lovely and the conversation and company was very animated and struck by the content of the morning.

I always mention the good and bad days and how the bad days are like a fog descending on the brain.
Someone came up to me afterwards to say that she hadn’t heard anyone mention about the ‘fog’ we can experience before – but after hearing me talk she now understood what her husband was talking about when he was describing the ‘fog’ he could see……..and thanked me for that light bulb moment in understanding more about her husband. Moments like that make all the effort worthwhile………

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

