Confusion with clocks changing…….

Remind me again, why we change the clocks………?

I thought I had myself all organised this year, as I usually do…..….I changed my manual clocks on the Saturday evening – putting them forward an hour – but couldn’t remember what would happen to my iPad, radio controlled clock and mobile so left those…….

Obviously when I woke up the next morning, the changing clocks didn’t enter my head, but I knew the heating hadn’t come on…..😳…..I looked at my clock and it was much later than normal………I then remembered about the clocks changing.

However, I didn’t know whether things had automatically happened on the techy stuff, so I wondered about the house trying to work out the correct time – and more importantly, what had happened to the heating!

I looked at the heating controls and it did dawn on me that I hadn’t done anything to the heating settings. The problem was, I couldn’t work out what I needed to do. Bizarrely, I couldn’t settle on whether I had to change all the settings ‘or do something else’….I wondered round the house talking the process through with myself but couldn’t work out what to do.

In the end I had to write the problem down on paper…..
‘Clocks changed’
‘Heating not come on’
‘What do I need to do’?
etc etc.

I then made a cuppa, which was obviously what my brain needed, as it was then that the answer popped into my head.

CHANGE THE CLOCK ON THE HEATING….😳🙄……..of course…..

Something so simple caused so much confusion. Wasn’t there some talk of doing away with changing the clocks? Can I join that group discussion please as I’m sure I’ll go through that whole process again in the autumn.
And there was me feeling smug at having remembered to change all the clocks…….

Remind me again, why DO we change the clocks………?

Crazy weather over the weekend - sun, wind, cold, hail and a lovely rainbow from my back room window😊⛈☀️☔️🌫🌬💨🌈
Crazy weather over the weekend – sun, wind, cold, hail and a lovely rainbow from my back room window😊⛈☀️☔️🌫🌬💨🌈

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

