“Working with Dementia”

On Friday researchers Dr Jannine Williams and Dr Sue Richardson, came to my house to interview me as part of an exploratory study they’re researching into being in employment and having dementia.
The aim of the project is:

“To better understand how to enable those who have received a diagnosis of dementia or mild cognitive impairment to continue to work for as long as they’re able and as long as they wish to do so”

The forecast wasn’t good and there’d been lots of snowy landscapes on the news. I’d had a phone call from them asking if they could come earlier in order to go back in daylight. It was my first day back at my home after the decorators had left so I was busy trying to clean downstairs so we could actually sit down!
Janine was coming by train and Sue picked her up at the railway station. They arrived in rain but told stories of all the snow they’d seen.

I’d met with them a month or so ago when they’d first started to put together the project and talk through ideas with them but this time they wanted to interview me as part of the study, which was nice. They’re currently conducting the research with 2 organisations in the UK but wanted to include me due to my specific experience.

It was being taped and we spoke about my experience when I was working and the lack of support I had at the time. We talked of the strategies I adapted at the time to continue to work and the fact that I had to put my own plan in place as no one knew what to do with me. We then touched on what employers could do to support employees.

Obviously I didn’t type away while we were recording so I can’t remember much of the detail, however, we suddenly looked at the time and realised we’d been talking for 2 hours! – so I must have had a lot to say.

It was lovely to see them both again and I think it’s Jannine that I’ll see at the launch of the dementia doctoral centre at Bradford next week.

Nice to be involved…….

Jannine and Sue
Jannine and Sue
About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

