Changing Relationships…….

This house move has revealed so much, none more so than my reliant on others.
I cling onto independence whilst knowing that I’m reliant on so many others.
Where once I would have put up curtain rails and painted the whole house inside and out, in no time at all, the thought is overwhelming, never mind the action of doing it. So I have to rely on other people to do these, once everyday things, for me. Everything seems a challenge – a mountain to climb – mountains are being climbed everyday. Dementia messes with the brain and makes tasks that were once simple, now complex.

Some people may say ‘What does it matter?’ – In the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t matter but it’s another change to the person I once was, especially when you’re continually trying to be positive for yourself and everyone around you.

This invisible disability creates vulnerability where once it never existed. When people, like workmen are talking, I’m concentrating so much on what they’re saying that I forget to ask why they’re saying it.
Once, we were the strong ones, the leaders, the people who others came to for help, now we are the ones needing help.
I don’t want pity; I’m not looking for support. I’m simply having a bad day.
Maybe tomorrow will be a better day……..or next week……

I’m sure Billy will raise my spirits……………..

Time to play Wendy!!
Time to play Wendy!!

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

7 thoughts on “Changing Relationships…….

  1. So easy for us to feel overwhelmed and. Frustrated when others. Are in charge . Make another list of what workmen need to know to make this less stressful for you. Communication is vital. If you are running late phone me the I willnotbe be on your back. When you eventually arrive. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry you are having a bad day- but thanks for sharing your experience with the world- I live in Bolton Ontario Canada – I have been following your blog for a while

    Liked by 2 people

  3. We all have bad days Wendy…Getting older (89) i find I have had to learn to ask for help, a very hard thing to d when you have always been independent, but i have also learnt that people like to help, so tell yourself you are help[ing them have a good day too..You are still an amazing woman nevertheless, so keep up good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Change is a strange thing -sometimes a welcome guest -sometime not.Sometime it seems to simply outsmarts us. In the midst of it your descriptions and observations are coherent and insightful. Peace to you from the far land of Northumberland.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

