Final lot of workmen……

This week saw the last workmen start on my house – the painters….I don’t think I could have asked the question – ‘How long will it take?”as they dropped the bombshell last week of telling me ‘about 3 weeks’…….😱……

I’d asked Gemma and Stuart if I could stay with them, but we all had 1 week in our heads for some reason. So you can imagine Gemma’s expression when I told her ‘3 weeks’……..😳 Obviously I won’t stay for the 3 weeks for many reasons. It’s not fair on them and I know I’ll become very anxious if I was 3 weeks anywhere but home……

Once again I’m dreading people being in my house. In the past I’ve always done the majority of the work myself so have never had to get people in to do this much. I’ve been quite shocked at how people treat someone’s home. I suppose to them it’s their place of work – they don’t see it as someone’s home. My mind goes back to the state people use to leave the staff kitchen at work. It’s amazing how many staff used to think the ‘washing up fairies’ came in the night to wash up their dirty cups and plates…..Workmen have treated my house similar to this.
They’ve all been very nice people, but just seem oblivious to the mess they’re creating around them. An example that springs to mind is the man who came to fit the doors last week. They said to wait until the new carpets went down so that the doors could be fitted properly – so they knew I had new carpets…..
When the man arrived, I reminded him and he said not to worry as he’ll put dust sheets down and had sheets of cardboard for the floor. He then walked in with muddy boots😳
He then used the cardboard and sheets to rest all his work tools on and let the mess go on my carpet. Maybe it’s me being fussy, but I did think all my carpet would be covered…….
It took me hours to clean up once he’d left.

So now I wonder how much mess there’ll be this time. I’m hopeful as it started off well with them all taking off their boots without me saying anything and then bringing in loads of dust sheet. ……..It makes me sad that some have no respect for people’s homes – maybe I’ve just been unlucky or my expectations have been off sync with what is the norm. Maybe next time I’ll try and find females and see if they’re any different – what am I talking about!!! I’m never going to have people in my house again – I’m done with changes,

Time soon to put my house together and get use to all the changes …….once they’ve gone……

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

One thought on “Final lot of workmen……

  1. Why don’t you print this of and give it to any. Worker coming into jour Home Don’t take it. Personally but please respect my home having so many. People in my space is hard for me Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

