Wish List……..

I found a list written by a young girl on the thepurpleelephant.org web site. She wrote her top 16 messages to her family. She wanted to make sure that her family hang up her wish list wherever she ended up living should she develop dementia…..

I’ve redone it and  narrowed it down to my top ten…………

•  I want my friends and family to embrace my reality. If I think my spouse is still alive, or if I think we’re visiting my parents for dinner, let me believe those things. I’ll be much happier for it.
• I don’t want to be treated like a child. Talk to me like the adult that I am.
• I still want to enjoy the things that I’ve always enjoyed. Help me find a way to do all these things.
• If  I become agitated, take the time to figure out what is bothering me.
• Treat me the way that you would want to be treated.
• Don’t talk about me as if I’m not in the room.
• Don’t feel guilty if you cannot care for me 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It’s not your fault, and you’ve done your best. Find someone who can help you, or choose a great new place for me to live but please still visit me
• Don’t act frustrated if I mix up names, events, or places. Take a deep breath. It’s not my fault.
• Know that I still like receiving hugs or handshakes.
• Remember that I am still the person you know and love.

I’d be quite happy to have this list on my wall…….

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

5 thoughts on “Wish List……..

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post, I think that’s a great idea of writing the list and it’s got me thinking about me doing one, helping my family and friends to know what I’d like if the worst should happen. I’d better put my thinking cap on. Hopefully you won’t need it for a very long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading your post, I think that’s a great idea of writing the list and it’s got me thinking about me doing one, helping my family and friends to know what I’d like if the worst should happen. I’d better put my thinking cap on. Hopefully you won’t need it for a very long time.
    Best wishes
    Brenda

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

