Catch up on Radio York

Yesterday I was in York as Jonathan Cowap from York Radio had asked if I would meet up with him again following the hour long interview he did with me last year. He was really helpful last year and helped promote the Memory Walk in York, resulting in a capacity entry!

My new bus from Beverley to York has just introduced wifi – perfect! I don’t mind travelling and am usually quite happy to stare out of the window watching the world go by but it’s also nice to be able to access the web on my iPad – happy days……..

image

It’s only a short walk from the town centre and I arrived a tad early so had a lovely chat with the very friendly receptionist. Jonathan duly arrived on time and we headed off into the studio to record a chat for the following days programme.
We talked about the reasons why I’d had to move and the unexpected difficulties this had caused me! I still havn’t settled into the house as workmen keep coming in and changing things. Not only that, but when they do their stuff they end up moving everything around. The last people were carpet people. I went and hid in the library while they completed the job……Obviously they had to empty each room before they could lay the carpet but they never remembered what came out of what room…….I got home and knew instantly that things weren’t right. Some things were missing in rooms but because I couldn’t remember what was there I don’t know what to look for……very frustrating.
I’m not going to bother trying to put things back together again as I’ll only have the same thing when the decorator arrives. I’ll start again when workmen are all finished.

I digress……..back to Jonathan….he’s a lovely happy chappie and very easy to talk to. He reads my blog and so knew more about what I’d been doing than I could remember!
He also asked me about my recent experience at Hull Royal and their lack of smiley faces. It was another chance to rant about my sad experience……

He highlighted that I’m involved with loads of stuff. He asked me why? I said that it was twofold. It has been good for my brain to be involved in such a diverse range of projects, but also it felt like, sometimes, it was out of necessity. If I’m asked to be involved and I know no-one will take my place if I say no, it seems like a lost opportunity for someone with dementia to be involved.

I rambled quite happily for half an hour and then it was time to leave. His last question was about my thoughts for the future……As always my response was:
“I have little control over the future so I don’t dwell on it. I live for today and make the most of each day”

It was lovely catching up with Jonathan again and very convenient that I could write my blog using the new wifi on the bus home😊

image

You can hear my ramblings for a while on catch up about 1hr 19mins into the show….

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p03ftwhm#play

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

2 thoughts on “Catch up on Radio York

Leave a Reply

