My first U3A venture……

U3A stands for “University of the Third Age”. The term “university” in this context is taken to mean a community of people learning together purely for enjoyment and nothing to do with the academic building!

I went to my first main meeting recently and went home with a list of local groups. The first one I contacted was ‘Strollers’…….. This group goes for a ‘stroll’ each week, lasting about an hour and ends the walk in a tea room – perfect! I emailed the group leader Ann, and had a speedy response saying that unfortunately they don’t meet from November until the following March.However, because it had been ages since they’d seen each other, they’d decided to meet last Tuesday at the local college restaurant for afternoon tea…. Because it had the word ‘tea’ in the sentence, I decided to go and meet everyone. It was also a chance to experience the local catering college students practicing making and serving afternoon tea!

image

So on Tuesday afternoon, I made my way to the college restaurant. Ann soon came over and introduced herself and said hello. Everyone was very friendly and I’m really looking forward to the walks. Members of the group, if they want to, take turns in leading the others on a favourite local walk.

The students were very good and did themselves proud. They practice greeting customers, preparing food, serving the food and drink and then taking the money at the end. All skills they’ll need in the real world and what better way to practice. Ann had gone at the start of their course and was impressed by how much they’d improved. A great venture and so glad I’ve got some new playmates, totally unrelated to dementia for summer walks………

 

About wendy7713

On the 31st July 2014 I was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s. I may not have much of a short term memory anymore but that date is one I’ll never forget. I’m 58 years young, live happily alone in Yorkshire, have 2 daughters and I’m currently still in full time employment in the NHS. However, I’m now in the process of taking early retirement to give me a chance of enjoying life while I’m still me. I've started this blog to allow me, in the first instance, to write all my thoughts before they’re lost. If anyone chooses to follow my ramblings it will serve as a way of raising awareness on the lack of research into Alzheimer's. It will hopefully convey the helplessness of those diagnosed with dementia, as there is no cure – the end is inevitable. However, I’m also hoping I can convey that, although we've been diagnosed, people like me still have a substantial contribution to make; we still have a sense of humour; we sill have feelings. I’m hoping to show the reality of trying to cope on a day to day basis with the ever-changing environment that dementia throws at those diagnosed with the condition. What I want is not sympathy. What I want is simply to raise awareness.

Leave a Reply

